Fermentation Friday, featuring Paranoid Pilsner.

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

So I've decided to try my hand at putting on a contest. I'm pretty new to Steemit and may need some help in the whole process. It's not overly original, but for those of us interested in the subject, it gives more ways to profit from what we love. From what I understand (i think...) the way it would or should work is that for the effort I will keep the author rewards SP and the SBD will be divided between the winners of the contest. If that doesn't seem like it's the way to do it please comment and let me know. I appreciate any and all help.

Basically I want to promote the craft beer community here on Steemit. I'm looking for quality content, so at least 2 pictures and a write up. It doesn't have to be crazy tasting notes, maybe just how you came across the beer or what you were up to that day while enjoying it. I'm not too tech savvy, so as hokey as it may seem I will likely just literally draw names from a hat. I was thinking everyone who enters will get a ballot to give everyone a chance, with up to two additional ballots, one for a write up that I think is deserving and one for impressive photography of the subject. Since the pot will be made up of the rewards for the post and just to make it easier on me, post your blog entry in the replies to this post. Resteem and follow. Pretty easy on your end, and hopefully it works out on mine haha.

So with the exception of me not knowing exactly what will be paying out the reward pool (which I'm sure someone will want to help me with if they want optimum rewards) Rules are:
minimum of 2 pictures
a write up of some sort
post your entry in the comments
follow and resteem
3 winners, 50% to 1st place and 25% to both 2nd and 3rd. So it's up to those participating to make it a contest worth being a part of.
up to 3 ballots per entry
one entry per person
Contest will run the 7 days until it closes for pay out and a new one will start the following friday.

Looking forward to seeing your entries! Let's make this fun and rewarding!

This is my entry (which obviously can't win, but would get 3 ballots in my opinion ;) )

pil2.jpg

Alright, I'm not usually a big pilsner fan. This beer however, is anything but your average pilsner. About a year and a half ago Parallel 49 did a collaboration case with other BC breweries. The "Brews Brothers" 12 breweries, 12 beers, all named after Rock and Roll songs. Most of these beers I drank right off the bat, but there were a few I held onto to age. Now a pilsner isn't something I would generally suggest doing this with, but again, this is not your average pilsner.

pil3.jpg

When Parallel 49 got together with Axe and Barrel, they started with an imperial pilsner recipe, threw in some rice and sorachi ace hops, added sake yeast and brettanomyces clausenii, and just for good measure tossed in some oak spirals aged in chardonnay and sake. Then it was finished with lager yeast. This was a complex and delicious beer when it came out. After cellaring, it still is. I was a little worried it wouldn't stand the test of time, but at 8.5% abv and the wild yeast involved, it seemed to stand up quite well.

pil4.jpg

Funky fruity esters on the nose follow through in the flavour. Tangy, a little boozy and still pretty crisp. Granny smith apple, a touch of stone fruit and some barnyard funk.

My general disdain for pilsners is because I find them boring in general. This one is far from that though. If they were all this interesting and complex, I could drink them constantly.

pil1.jpg

Cheers, and good luck!!
-Brews Buffer

brews buffer.jpg

Sort:  

Looks delicious you can never go wrong with a pils. I usually stay clear because I often find them boring too. If I see this one I’ll give it a try.

Unfortunately it was a 'one of'. But if you see something of this nature I would say take the plunge and give it a shot! Looking forward to seeing an entry if you choose to do so!

How is this different from #BeerSaturday?

It really isn't much, just gives another way for people to get rewarded by posting on the subject. I don't know if that's frowned upon, but the majority of my social media posts are on the subject and I think the contest aspect is fun and can be rewarding. So I figured why not have more ways to get in on the action?
Also it is what the community makes it, as the plan is not to have set prize amounts. The pot will be divided, so the more interest and participation, the better the rewards.

Okay, I've been thinking on this very subject for a few weeks now. I've been working on some ideas to do something related to craft beer but different than #BeerSaturday. BeerSaturday is totally casual and fun. I've been thinking of something that could potentially challenge people to learn more about beer, which might mean it fails miserably.

I don't want to rain on your parade but in some respect you've encouraged me to launch my idea sooner. Good luck top us both!

Cool. I like it, and no rain here! Like I said, I love the idea of more contests and I'm a bit of a beer geek, so I think it's a great idea and am very interested. We'll see how this goes and maybe I'll get more creative and go in a different direction, but I figured I would see how this pans out. Looking forward to participating in whatever you get up and going!
You might be right though, casual is far easier for the majority, but I'm up for the challenge of whatever you've got! And if you need help and wanted to collaborate, I'd be up for that as well. I just want more out there for us all. Why not, right?

The one standing rule will be no AB-InBev, Heineken, Kirin, SAB MillerCoors beers. Yeah, that means no Goose Island Bourbon County
Stout.😉🍻

Haha! That was the one beer i was going to mention might be excluded! Extremely hard to get my hands on here anyways...
That was something I was going to insist on as well. CRAFT only. But seeing as the ballots will be awarded at my disrection, there would have to be one helluva good story or some creative photography to get more than a single ballot for a bud!

@beer47, thanks for the comments and getting the gears going a little over here. Honestly I think I just wanted to do something and tie it into this post, so I may have jumped the gun a bit. Even though the first thing I mentioned was that it wasn't an original idea, I would like it to have something that sets it apart, even if it's minimal. I do want to keep it casual and fun, but I like your idea of education as well. I think in the following weeks (assuming anyone even enters, at this rate it's all up for grabs as little as it is haha) I will do a specific style of beer. This one will be kept open season. So nothing too crazy, but it may encourage people to get out of their comfort zone a bit and try something a little different. Thoughts on that? Otherwise I would keep it all the same I think. Just next week might be for IPAs, the following Saisons, then Stouts etc. etc. Thank god I posted a Pilsner this week! haha. Although, even though I'm not a big fan of the style, there could be a bunch of posts that turn me on to a few good ones. One of the advantages of putting something like this on!