First Winners and another couple Beers

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

light and dark.jpg

So I just ran my first contest here on Steemit. It had a whopping 2 entries! Gotta start somewhere, right?! If you'd like to check it out and join in the next one (which should be up in a day or two for IPAs) here's the link to the last: https://steemit.com/contest/@webstar/beer-contest
Since there were only the two entries I decided to pretty much split it down the middle with the winner getting the extra penny or so from the pay out. That being said, congrats to @cryptictruth for first place and @harveyworld for a close second!

Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 8.58.25 PM.png

I think I will dub the contest "Beer Money" in the hopes that in the future it will pay for the beers featured by the winners.
Hope see a few more people join in the following ones!

Now on to my post for days 6 & 7 of the Seven Day Beer Challenge.

I purposely skipped a day so I could do a two in one today. The reason for this is the Dark Light series from Field House Brewing. They put out these two Saisons, one dark and one light, different hops, both done with Brett. I wanted to try them side by side. They are two very different beers.

Let's start with the Dark -

dark1.jpg

It poured a dark caramel colour with a thick frothy head. As I said they used Brett in this beer along with Eldorado and Mosaic hops. This gave it a tangy citrus and fig type flavour. Being a dark beer it had a slightly chocolatey after taste and maybe an unroasted coffee type flavour. I just realized now that it clocked in at 10%! Sure goes down easy for such a high percentage. It has a little heat, but I never would have guessed it was that heavy.

dark3.jpg

The Light -

light1.jpg

This one poured a golden straw colour with a good amount of pillowy head. This version, also fermented with Brettanomyces, used Nelson Sauvin and Hallertau Blanc hops. This gave it juicy white wine characteristics as well as a bit of barnyard funk, and hay flavours. These were complemented with some citrus and stone fruit and a dry finish.

light2.jpg

Both really good beers, I still haven't had anything from Field House I didn't like. A solid brewery!
Cheers!

Sort:  

Seems to me that requiring a specific style is too restrictive to get many entries. Why not do pizza instead?

Hahaha mostly because I'm lactose intolerant! Though I do love pizza...
That's the whole point though! I understand that it can be a bit of a hindrance, but I'm hoping to get people out there to try something new. I think too many people are stuck in the mind frame that there is only one specific style they like because of one bad experience or no experience with some more lesser known (to the average person) styles. It may not work at all, but I hope people will give something new a shot and possibly expand their range of likes and dislikes. Time will tell. Hope you participate in the future!

I drink my own homebrew almost exclusively so it is unlikely I'll have your style of the week on tap.

Ahhh, well ya never know. What do ya got on the go at the moment?

IPA, Brett C tropical sour, farmhouse ale, hoppy lager

Sounds like an impressive line up. No wonder it's all you drink!

Thanks for the beer money! I’ll make sure to spread the word. This is a great contest for the community.

You're very welcome, and thank you!

Second in the contest, and second to thank you. I'll be sourcing me some IPA's to support week two of the contest.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 08:34:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 15.25/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank