$$$ Beer Money $$$ - Round 4, Pale Ale

in #contest6 years ago

A little contest to give back to your beer funds.

I'm going to keep it real simple, with basically 3 rules. I want to get people out of their comfort zone a bit with this, so I was thinking each time it will be for a different style of beer. So your post must be for a beer of that style. I'm hoping it will get people to try something different once in a while and possibly expand their horizons in craft beer drinking and culture. So that's rule one. Two and three are simply to post at least two pictures and to give very simple tasting notes. It can be as easy as saying you liked the way the hops had a tropical fruit flavour, or the stout tasted like coffee and chocolate. I know a lot of people aren't comfortable with this part, so start simple and perhaps in time people will be able to add a bit more to what they think of each beer. I just want people to get thinking about different styles and tastes!

I'm hoping to have 3 winners (50% 30% & 20% to 1st, 2nd and 3rd) eventually, but it may only start with one, we'll see how it pans out. I will award tickets in a draw based on your post. 1 for just entering and further depending on quality in my opinion of photography, write up and whether or not it's craft beer. It will honestly be very hard to get more than one entry for a Budweiser ;) There's no need to follow, resteeem or upvote, as apparently that goes against Steemit rules. But if you'd like to enter contests in the future a follow would help us both. The pay out will be all the SBD earned on the post, so if no one resteems or upvotes there will be no prize, so again, not necessary, but in your best interest and appreciated :)

Add your link in the comments so I can see it and that should be it. Let me know if there are any questions or concerns.

So, because there were only three entries last time and everyone was forced to drink a Pilsner, everyone was a winner. Everyone more or less met the criteria, so all names were thrown in a hat and once again the first pulled was:
@Harveyword. @Bigskycustoms came in next, leaving @Cryptictruth to take third. Sorry I've been slacking a bit here, fellas. Been busy and haven't had much time to get on here. I hope that even though it was a small amount, the fact that it was far more than the prize pool helps to make it up!

Round 4 - Pale Ales

Since we're still in the early stages, I'm still trying to keep it simple. Again, in general, I'm not a huge fan of this style myself. It's just another one that lacks in being really interesting and flavourful. Now, of course this isn't always the case. There are plenty of Pale Ales I like and will happily drink them, I just see it as like a step above a Pilsner.

All that being said, Tiger-Shark Citra Pale Ale from Phillips Brewing and Malting Co. wasn't too bad.

write up.jpg

As the write up says, this Pale Ale had pretty big citrus and tropical fruit flavours because of the Citra Hops it showcases. Pretty hoppy for a Pale Ale, but not quite to the extent of an IPA. Which is fine by me as I prefer my Pale Ales built to last the voyage to India.

tiger.jpg

I find Phillips kinda hit or miss, not my favourite brewery in town. The beer is decent, but where they excel is in marketing. They have great graphics, sponsor big events, throw giant concerts on the brewery grounds and even got into the soda game. This beer was on the hit side for me and I'll likely pick it up again at some point.

shark.jpg

Lets see some (hopefully) good Pale Ales you'd like to share, and hopefully I can reward you well for having a cold one!

Next edition we'll look at something a bit different and try a German style - Gose. Plenty of time to take a look for one and give it a shot! Until then...

Sort:  

That is one hazy lookin' Pale Ale! 5 malts and 5 hops too. Sounds like a good one that unfortunately without a beer share or something, I will never have the chance to try. Great post though, thanks!

Nice, another Citra Pale. I don't think I've ever had anything with Comet though. Sounds similar to the beer I posted, so I'll take a look for this. We don't get a lot of Washington stuff up here, but it's close enough that I may come across it. And being a west coaster, I love my hops!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T08:27:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 28.25/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I have a new Pale Ale to try, so I will do it right this time! Hopefully tonight.