You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

A blood red sky

We tried to escape from the city when we saw on the news that a missile was being directed at us. The streets were clogged but we managed to drive until about 25 km. The car had stopped on the road when climbing the hill and on the edge of a precipice.

The landscape was like a surreal sunset. An incandescent oval covered the city. The red clouds seemed to tear the orange sky. The fire danced in the air and toppled the towers. We were stunned.

I looked up and the rider on the horse made me tremble even more as he shed the blood on the ground and waters after the sound trumpet. I closed my eyes praying, hoping that this time God would listen to me. Although I think it's too late.