Cook With Us Homework: "Vegan Salt Fish" Recipe Featuring Heart of Palm

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

image.png

VEGAN SALT FISH ...FEATURING HEART OF PALM

I am super excited that the great folks over at Cook With Us have just been accepted by @curie to receive a Curie Community Contribution. (https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@cookwithus/cook-with-us-breaking-news-please-read-this-important-post). This is a well deserved achievement! This announcement was made jointly with the Cooks With Us launch of a new contest season. Yippie! I don't know about you, but I'm ready and raring to go!

Just to get everyone in the contest mood, Cooks With Us gave a homework assignment to past and future contestants. The assignment is to "research an unusual fruit or vegetable that may be specific to your country or just unusual (not specific to your country)." Since tonight's family dinner was a trip to the islands, featuring Jamaican Meat Patties and Salt-fish. (...all VEGAN versions of course!), I thought it would be cool to tell you a bit about Heart of Palm, which is a mouth-wateringly delicious and plant-based stand-in for the traditional fish in this dish. I'll also be sharing the recipe for this simple and delicious dish. (And, I'll also be sharing a recipe for the Jamaican Meat Patties in a later, separate post. Be sure to check it out too!)

HEART OF PALM VEGAN SALT FISH RECIPE

INGREDIENTS

  1. 2 jars or cans of Heart of Palm (I got mine from Costco but I have also purchased it from Trader Joe's)
  2. 1 Tbsp neutral oil (I used avocado oil but use whatever you prefer)
  3. 1 Orange Bell Pepper
  4. 1 Red Bell Pepper
  5. 4 Cloves garlic
  6. 1 Medium Yellow onion
  7. 6 Scallions (I use both green and white parts)
  8. 2 diced, Medium tomatoes, firm but ripe,
  9. 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
  10. 2 sprigs fresh thyme or 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme
    10.. 2 tbsp Tamari
  11. 1 tbsp Organic Miso
  12. 1/3 cup finely shredded Nori flakes
  13. 1 tbsp dulse
  14. 2 Tbsp Hijiki, soaked in 1/3 cup hot water for at at least 8 minutes
  15. Sea salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

METHOD

  1. Drain, rinse and rough chop Heart of Palm
  2. Medium Dice the peppers, yellow onions, scallions. Finely chop garlic.
  3. Heat a large, heavy skillet over medium high heat. Add oil.
  4. Add onions and peppers. Saute for 5 minutes, until softened but not browned. Stir often.
  5. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add miso, stir to make sure no clumps remain.
  6. Add Heart of Palm to skillet, stirring to combine..
  7. Add remaining ingredients, stir to combine. Cook for about 10 minutes more. Taste for seasoning and adjust as desired.

This Heart of Palm Salt Fish is delicious served with Jamaican Meat Pies, callaloo or a piece of roti! Or, you can just eat a big bowl of this all by itself! Hope you enjoy this recipe.....I know that I certainly did!

A BIT ABOUT HEART OF PALM

##HOW DOES HEART OF PALM LOOK AND TASTE?

It's been said that Heart of Palm looks a bit like like a white asparagus, minus the tip.

image.png

With regard to taste, Heart of Palm has a crunchy, neutral texture. Some people liken its flavor to artichokes. It is super versatile and adapts itself well to many flavors. When shredded, the texture of the heart of palm strongly resembles crabmeat or flaked white fish.

BENEFITS OF HEART OF PALM

Hearts of palm are an excellent source of protein and fiber, as well as potassium, vitamins B6 and C, calcium, niacin, phosphorus and zinc. An article found at https://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2018/04/02/hearts-of-palm-benefits.aspx provides an even more comprehensive breakdown of the health benefits of Hearts of Palm.

A 1-ounce serving of hearts of palm provides:

***7 grams of total carbohydrates, including energy-providing complex carbs and natural sugars
***0.23 milligrams (mg) of vitamin B6, which is rich enough to supply your body with 18 percent of your Dietary Reference Intake
***258 mg of potassium, an “essential” nutrient that your body can’t produce on its own.5 Potassium alone helps lower your blood pressure by balancing the salt you eat
***1.5 mg of vitamin C, a powerful antioxidant
***0.638 mg of niacin, aka vitamin B3
***85 mg of calcium, which strengthens bones
***95 mg of phosphorus, which helps maintain healthy skeletal bones
***1.68 mg of zinc, for wound healing and proper thyroid function (more than half what is required for women per day)
***In fiber, a 1-cup serving (146 grams) of hearts of palm provides 14 percent of the DRI.

And all of these benefits come at a cost of only 32 calories per ounce!

WHAT EXACTLY IS HEART OF PALM?

Heart of Palm is a vegetable harvested from, you guessed it, the heart of a palm tree. Though it is somewhat known as a trendy vegetable, Heart of Palm was actually cultivated and consumed by the ancient Mayans who lived in Mesoamerica from around 2600 B.C. Hearts of palm can be harvested from several types of palm trees, including the cabbage palm, the Royal Palm and the sabal palmetto palm, grown in Florida, Costa Rica and Brazil.

Though palm trees do grow in some areas of my home state, they are certainly not native nor prolific to the state of North Carolina. Even if I were to run across a harvestable palm tree, I would have no earthly idea what to do with it. Perhaps that is why I was so fascinated by a blog post that I ran across by the great folks at Bee Heaven Farm. Though the post was written a few years ago, it provides a great overview of what they did when they ran across a newly downed Royal Palm. They have kindly given me permission to share those pictures with you. Be sure to check out Bee Heaven Farm at:

https://beeheavenfarm.com/
https://www.instagram.com/beeheavenfarm/
https://www.facebook.com/beeheavenfarm

BEE HEAVEN FARM: FINDING AND HARVESTING HEARTS OF PALM

image.png
https://beeheavenfarm.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/harvesting-fresh-heart-of-palms/

image.png
https://beeheavenfarm.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/harvesting-fresh-heart-of-palms/

image.png
https://beeheavenfarm.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/harvesting-fresh-heart-of-palms/

image.png
https://beeheavenfarm.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/harvesting-fresh-heart-of-palms/

image.png
https://beeheavenfarm.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/harvesting-fresh-heart-of-palms/

VIDEO ABOUT HARVESTING HEARTS OF PALM

Until later, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Hello @atmemestable 😉 what a comprehensive research for a post 😊 love it. I remember when I was a child, we cut down our coconut tree and my neighbour took the heart of the tip part of that coconut tree, he lets us eat the soft and sweet juicy part and I like it. In some region of Indonesia, beside the sago tree (uhmm still palm family too) this heart of palm became a main food with different process of course.

Thank you for sharing the recipe ☺ even in my country, we need to order to get this heart of palm. I found your post through @roleerob entry post in the #payitforward contest this week.

You can sure make a recipe very fun to read. I can feel your enthusiasm tbrough the screen of my phone :0).
A very detailed recipe, a lot of background info and a spontanious writing style. Well done
(I came here through @roleerob's entry for @pifc)

Love that you include the info about heart of palm. I was already wondering about it before I got to that part of the post.
I came over because your post was featured by @roleerob in this weeks Pay it forward curation contest.

Very interesting article!
Thanks for sharing all the information about the heart of palm as well as the recipe itself.

I found you thanks to @roleerob's Pay it Forward Curation contest entry. Keep up the great work!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 122 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=atmemestable
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cook-with-us-homework-vegan-salt-fish-recipe-featuring-heart-of-palm


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Upvoted.

Thank you so much for your upvote!

Congratulations on an A+ for your homework @atmemestable!

Doing it was lots of fun! There was so much I never knew about Hearts of Palm. I don't think I'll try harvesting it myself anytime soon though. LOL!

Oh yeah, do not attempt to get the heart of palm when you see a harvestable one. Funny! Make sure you get some help first.

I grew up in the Philippines were it is abundant. I miss the fresh ones and love that they're versatile.

Glad you did your homework as it brought back fond memories. What a great dish you made too!

Thanks, @offoodandart! I'll just pick up my Hearts of Palm at the Costco for now No harvesting for me. Glad my post triggered some fond memories for you. By the way, love your blog!

Thank you so much!

Yeah, fond memories are the best! Going there in November so will make sure I have some hearts of palm then.

Up before 🌄 (here) @atmemestable, working to do my small part in support of the great @pifc community, I am writing to let you know I have selected your post as an entry into their weekly contest.

I hope will find encouragement in learning this, to continue all you are clearly doing to add value to our Steem blockchain. Please follow the entry link above to find my supporting comments, to the PIFC Community, for the consideration of your efforts here.

All the best to you @atmemestable, for a better tomorrow!

Aww, thank you @roleerob! I appreciate the encouragement and the kind words! Your efforts to support the Steem community are appreciated! Thanks again for the upvote and support!

Thanks for a great post @atmemestable - so happy to have you as part of our awesome team of foodies - very informative post

Now that's something I've never cooked with nor eaten! Well done on a great homework project @memestable, so happy you completed your task - don't want to end up in the head master's office hey ;);)
Nice to have you here!

Congratulations @atmemestable! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks @roleerob for choosing this post. I am very interesting about heart of palm. I never seen recipe like this. It would delicious for sure.

interesting recipe @atmemestable, never knew that the heart of palm which sometimes abandoned by the tree cutter in my neighbourhoood could be proceed to be a healthy food for the vegan, vegans always creative! keep steem it up

I admit I have not yet tired heart of palm. This definitely will the only way to get me to try 'fish' again LOL. It looks amazing and sounds simple enough. Great walk through even of how they make the heart of palm 😃.

As you know @roleerob featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. If you haven't heard of us please take a look If anything extra exposure is a great thing :)