You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook with Us #29: Vegan Koftas Lunch for 2 people ONLY 1.85 SBD! FEED YOURSELF WITH SBD EARNINGS!

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Awesome entry @celestialcow! You really know how to make a budget meal! I remember reading a book once that showed what typical families from all around the world bought for food for a week. Each family spread out their food on a table and listed what they paid for it. It was fascinating to see how families that had all natural vegetarian based diets were able to buy so much more food for so little money versus families that bought meat and processed foods. Seeing your fridge reminded me of that book. It is so impressive that you bought all of that food for twenty euro. It is also impressive that you are living off of Steem!

I also like how you grow some of your own foods which is a great way to have fresh and cheap food. I like how you foraged the lemon! Your kofta look amazing with the hummus and slaw. What a great budget meal. Thanks for showing us how so little money can go so far without compromising quality or taste!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing all that @chefsteve. Even before I was strictly vegan for the ethics, I was pretty much vegetarian because I could not afford meat. Its true what u say about traditional diets around the world. Meat is mostly reserved for special occasions, because the lifestock are their assets. The modern consumer diet could learn alot from that. Its sad to see that packaged meats get thrown in the bins when out of date, so much wastage, and unnecessary life lost!

I can buy my food off steem income but nothing else, thankfully my partner is able to pay the bills. Although things aren't always secure with steem. This is why I'm working quite hard o my website, which I would not have the motivation to do if I was in an energy zapping job. There is a big expectation in the west that we must get high paid jobs. My family think I should work in a kitchen but as someone who worked in a restaurant I know how stressful and tiring it is. For me I prefer to live frugally than have a massive bank balance. I spend more time outside and feel alot happier than when I had to work for someone else!