Cook with Us #8 - Guilty Pleasures - South African Milk Tart (Melktert)

in #cookwithus6 years ago

South Africa is famous for many great recipes and one of them is definitely the milk tart. This recipe is carried from generation to generation and carries with it so many memories.

I unfortunately with all my travels could not find my "family" recipe so I turned to google for a good recipe.

To be honest, it was a lot of work but I don't regret making it because it certainly made a lot of people happy as they indulged in it - and not a crumb left

Recipe:

Prepare the filling
Ingredients

4.5 cups of milk
2.5 Tbsp corn flour
2.5 Tbsp flour
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
pinch of salt
large spoon of butter

Method:

Bring milk to a gentle boil

Beat eggs well before adding the sugar, flour, cornflour and salt
Mix well. Make a well in the centre and add milk and stir well
Return to stove and stir for 10-12 minutes on medium heat until the mixture thickens

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 9.39.33 PM.png

Add butter and vanilla essence then mix through and pour into biscuit shell made with crushed tennis biscuits and butter

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 9.39.58 PM.png

Allow cooling in the fridge
Sprinkle cinnamon on top

I wish I had remembered @Lizelle made Milk Tart in the early days of the competition - I could have done a "myturn" on her amazing recipe - next time !!

Hope you enjoy
Love
E

Sort:  
Congratulations! Your post has been selected as the Springbokkie Pick of the Week for showcasing a part of South African culture. Keep posting great South African content, and building the #teamsouthafrica community, and connect with us on Discord, if you're not already their.

Cheers!!

Looks good - wish I could have tasted it @edenmichelle

I have never had a milk tart but it looks delicious. The sprinkle of cinnamon is the perfect touch. What are tennis biscuits? Are they plain digestive type of biscuits?

I’m starting to think that I’ll need to add milk tart in my list of #myturn. It seems that milk tart is a great part of the South African culture. Maybe one of you can provide us with some background and or history around its origin and how it has developed over time. Your recipe looks great and you should be proud about pulling your own version of it.

Great minds think alike! Your milk tart looks delish! Genius using a deep casserole (great way to fit in more custard, mine always starts threatening to run over the edges of the tart pan!)

OK, it is time for me to try a milk tart! They look so good! I am so thankful that I get to learn about so many new foods from the Cook with Us community. Thanks for sharing this recipe @edenmichelle!

South African milk tart keeps knocking on my door. I really have to make it soon as I haven't had it before. When @lizelle shared her milk tart on an earlier CwU contest, I thought it was the same custard tart, judging from photos and the ingredients. However, @pandamama said it's different. It has made me curious and seeing it again on this CwU round makes me even more curious than ever!

Yours looks delicious! Thanks for investing the time to make this entry!