Cook With Us #34- Secret Santa gift post for @chloephuan93

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! This is the first time I am participating this interesting #cookwithus challenge, where I am not a chef (in fact I am the worst cook in the family) but I don't mind trying new things.


@chloephuan93 has been having a really hard time going through her storms and as a godma who can not really do much, what I can do is probably show her what I am doing and hopefully it will one day turn out fantastic for her to try out.


So today, I have managed to learn to cook a Vegetarial Dal (Lentils) dish that I have always loved; but since I am not allowed to eat spicy, I have twisted a little to my taste and I am still trying to tweak it properly.

Unfortunately I just read the contest entry and I hope that they will still allow me to enter even though I forgot to write a the paper down. @pandamama has previously seen my dish before in Whaleshares so I hope I will be able to update later when I cook another pot again haha; but rest assured that the images with a flower type design logo as water mark (my signature in all my original photos) will temporary fit in the criteria until I update it with a pen the next morning since it is quite dark now at the dead of the night.

So, let me show you my dish: @littlenewthings Tweaked Vegetarian Non Spicy Dal



Yes. There is no trace of spiciness at all, that is why it will be perfect for @chloephuan93 when I manage to season to taste properly.

It also has no diary ingredients so this too is perfect for lactose intolerant individuals.

(Perfect for seniors too if you manage to cook them soft enough)

Note: The Capati is store bought from the frozen section; I only cook them from package.


Here is the up close photo that I have cooked, where I added frozen mixed vegetables plus freshly cut carrot.



You can add in potatoes too, if you prefer it to be thicker and starchier; but when you manage to cook it properly, the softer mashed Yellow Dal (pigeon pea / Mung bean - I think I used the former, the package didn't say) with the consistency will give both fiber and protein satisfaction.

What are my ingredients?



Actually the base ingredient was precooked on 17 Nov (the day my dad was hospitalised) but I have frozen them nicely in boxes.

They consist of white onion, mixed vegetables, yellow Dal (either pigeon pea or skinned mung bean) with spices like Indian mixed herbs, one dried full shaped Star Anise (Illicium verum), one cinnamon stick, a tiny pinch of turmeric powder, vege (for vegans) / chicken stock, Himalayan rock salt and pepper to taste.

I will have to show you all how to do the base mix (that can be eaten with it directly with Capati flat bread (or any bread)

Note: Turmeric powder is a good anti-inflammatory natural ingredient, and for me who has been suffering thresh, it is a perfect ingredient to numb the pain.



Other than the base ingredient, I have added this, which to me is the crucial ingredient to have that thick soupy stew-like dal; which most Indian / Muslim Indian (Mamak) restaurants will have.

Red lentils cooks fairly qick, and if you let it simmer long enough they will dissolve into the thick consistency that I have noticed.


Off topic: When I tried to boil my base mixture longer with vege stock, it wasn't soft enough for that stew-like texture I wanted. The Red Lentils did the trick



I have mixed all of them together with some extra vege stock to a boil.


And after that, I transferred it to this Thermal Cooker (that my aunt gave to my mom as she had another one) and let it self-cook for another 8 hours.

You can use slow cooker or crock pot to do so, but since I cooked this at night time before bed it was perfect for it to just simmer nicely while I rested, without extra electricity used. Speaking of eco-friendly, that the way to go!

After that, it was ready to serve in the morning after a reheat.

It's actually super easy one there's a base ingredient previously made, but if you want to see how I did the base from scratch, that would be in another post because this is a little too long now haha.

The #cookwithus contest is organised by founded by @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama. On their official @cookwithus account.

Until then




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://littlenewthings.mywofs.com/ishare/index.php/2018/12/04/cook-with-us-34-secret-santa-gift-post-for-chloephuan93/

Sort:  

Thermal cooker is a great kitchen tool! Totally love it. And yes, eco friendly! This would be great for little ones too!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is indeed a great tool especially when you know how to use it properly. The first thing is not to 烧焦 the contents of the pot during boiling. Haha.
Thank you so much for stopping by

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great to see a non spicy dal, I just love Moongh Dal but it's quite spicy. Nice that you could share this with your godchild :)

Thank you @lizelle I am still perfecting it by playing around the spices ratio. It can be a little tricky haha.
Too little it lacks taste, too much can be over powering.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for joining @cookwithus. Hope your Christmas is wonderful and wish you a blessed New Year. See you on Whaleshares

Thanks so much @pandamama Christmas is always both joy and chaos at the same time haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Cook with Us! So nice to see you here.

Your non-spicy dal looks hearty and perfect for the capati. Thanks so much for sharing your tips! And yes, I would love to see your base made from scratch. =D

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Looks super delicious to me wo.. Doesn't look the worst chef at all. Great job @littlenewthings. Okay now going to Chloe's post.

You have so much love in your heart., ♥️❤️💖

Oh that is so very kind of you @iamjadeline !
It's a little watery and also a little saltier on the first try, so I just tried another round with a little more red lentils and shredded carrots with mini cubes of potatoes (that was frozen in the fridge) to make it thicker. Will know by tomorrow morning how it looks like haha.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

It's as vegan as it gets
That dhal looks really good :)

Haha, coming from you does boost up a lot more confidence in me to perfect the taste. This was a little over powering on the rock salt, so my next attempt will be a lot less with extra mini potato cubes.
Thanks so much for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well presented with great photograph shot. Santa loves milk and cookies only. Please send that to my house instead. I missed this food especially the non-spicy curry. 😆

Hahahah. Next round got CNY gathering if you stop by maybe it could happen, once I have perfected it that is.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is actually one of my favourite foods and the chapati makes it! 😋

Hi5 then @celestialcow!
It has always been my favourite food since young but we got to balance a little as these are still beans and my boss just reminded me to be aware of gout and uric acid haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was crying so badly last night..After crying i saw this post, my saliva came out and it was at 4am in the morning. @littlenewthings .
Then i woke up , came to work and ate roti telur with Dal and curry!

Aw... at least it has inspired you to have something hearty (and different) this morning.

I would love to see you cook it and cook with you and learn how to cook from you. #passingdowntherecipe

My cooking everything agak-agak wan. Need to see the ingredients again.

Then we can agak agak together-gether. Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to CookwithUs @littlenewthings! I like your version of non-spicy dal. It looks rich and comforting and It will be amazing with the flat bread. Thank you for sharing with us!