What is Copy Clinic?

in #copyclinic8 years ago (edited)

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmUaeejXWYR5g89rBu1bvEhGqQoYHkpbcr8z8njXY8oZtm

Copy Clinic is a proposed format for Steemit Stories

Users can adopt this format if they've written some copy that they'd like critical feedback on. It's for people writing short passages to persuade their audience about something (think of marketing, promotion, propaganda) rather than for technical, journalistic, academic or creative writers.

I put this together because I'll be asking for feedback on scripts for my animations now and then. Perhaps others would like to use the format too. Here's the first script I'm hoping for help with.

The Suggested Format

Name your new Steemit Story Copy Clinic - [Your title here]

Swap the placeholder for the title - or some kind of summary - of the piece of copy you'll be soliciting feedback on.

Paste the following Markdown into the body of your Story:

<center>https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmUaeejXWYR5g89rBu1bvEhGqQoYHkpbcr8z8njXY8oZtm</center>

[What is Copy Clinic?](https://steemit.com/copyclinic/@bitbutter/copy-clinic-what-is-copy-clinic)

# Context

[Your context information]

---

[Your copy]

Swap the [Your context information] placeholder for information about your copy that will help people to give relevant feedback.

  • Mention the ultimate destination of the copy. It it an 'about us' text for a company website? A video script? An advert in a newspaper? etc.
  • Who is the target audience, what kind of demographic do you hope to speak to with the text?
  • Do you hope to get particular kinds of feedback or suggestions from responders? Mention that too.
  • Add anything else you'd like to say to your readers/responders here too.

Beneath the horizontal line, Swap the [Your copy] placeholder for the copy you'd like feedback on. Include a title if applicable.

Tag your Story copyclinic in addition to whatever other tags you'd like.


I'm Tomasz Kaye. I made George Ought To Help and other pro-liberty propaganda films. You can support my work on Patreon.com.

Sort:  

I like your idea.. your promoting an interactive community. Engaging content that everyone can offer input on. Good job

Thanks, I'm glad you like the idea.

I think this is a great idea, but is there a reason it couldn't be used for creative writing? I would love to be able to get feedback on the novel I'm writing.

Hi @daoine-sidhe. I think the same approach can certainly be taken for creative writing too, but I'd prefer the two types of writing to be collected under different names. That's because I reckon I can usefully give feedback on the kind of copy I'm targeting with this idea, but not so much for creative writing. So for me it's a categorisation convenience thing.

Maybe you want to take the ball with setting up a parallel 'format' - 'Creative Writing Clinic', 'Creative Clinic', I dunno! If you do, I'd happily create a new header graphic for you, for the new thing. Let me know.

I'm totally up for something like that, but don't yet fully understand the mechanism. If I could see this one in action, I'm sure that would help!

Oh sure. It's a very simple thing. I just posted this first script asking for feedback: https://steemit.com/anarchism/@bitbutter/copy-clinic-would-you-trust-this-corporation

Okay... now I see. Yes, that's completely doable. I thought it was a program! My bad. :)

@bitbutter are you thinking about a steemit video at all?

Hi @liber, you mean a video talking about steemit? I don't have one planned at the moment. I still know too little about how the system works.

How about a video on the assassination market, that would be awesome.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal