You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Core development report #12: Good progress on direct rc delegations

in #core3 years ago (edited)

That can lead to a lot of micromanaging. On a few occasions I've tossed a bit of HP over to a noob or something. And for some reason I've had bad luck helping; they vanish and don't even use it. You have to keep checking in on progress. If I had thousands, I'd lose my mind and most likely decide to opt out. I realize developers will most likely find a solution for themselves especially on a larger scale. Would be cool if it came standard somehow though, for the rest. Something to consider for the future at least. I suppose it's worth waiting to see how it's being used first as well, before streamlining.

Sort:  

Adding an expiration adds some extra weight on the chain that I don't think is really necessary. I assume the majority of the use cases for this are going to be automated and worst case it's fine if you have an outgoing delegation that you forgot, it's not like you'll miss the rc since you use like a fraction of your total RC and it's not like hive power where if it's delegated out you lose out on curation rewards.

Plus I assume there will be a neat UX to show you a list of outgoing rc delegations.

Thanks for taking the time to look into it. I've learned over the years just from reading you folks that there's a delicate balancing act happening behind the scenes. So yes, stick to the path you're on. I'm confident there will be a solution to that particular situation I mentioned, at some point. I'll bet within the first month once it goes live, someone out there will be offering, something, somewhere, that probably even does more than what I think I'll need. Funny how that works around here.

I'm an independent artist and content creator. But not the kind that just wants to collect crypto. That comes secondary to the audience I'd like to collect since living in a bubble just feels awkward to someone in this field. The majority of my potential market is on the outside and if I can offer them RC for instance, they can be on the inside engaging, maybe even going through the million hoops to purchase an NFT and actually coming out alive to say thanks, then hopefully stick around for more. Attempting to build a business on cutting edge technology that's constantly evolving, meaning I need to know how to apply every new piece of the puzzle efficiently and effectively, as I operate in a decentralized world that allows me to completely ignore the path laid out for me since it sometimes doesn't fit, and just do my own thing, with the resources I have; it's difficult. Still fun. Sometimes heavily restricted by the pace and decisions of others. But I don't plan on dying tomorrow.

I appreciate you man, so keep up the good work.