Take it seriously, but don't panic

in #coronavirus4 years ago

Image

I will admit, I was caught off-guard by this coronavirus event. Not by the virus, but by the level of panic that is going along with it. Panic that is unnecessary and counterproductive. Panic which seems to be spread by certain folks in the media and encouraged by certain political folks.

It's not that I don't take this situation seriously. It's possible to take something seriously without panicking over it. Really, it is! Some people seem to forget this.

I'm taking the pan[ic]demic seriously. I've reduced my human interactions-- not that I was a social butterfly before. I am washing my hands more, especially if I go away from home, and I have actually used hand sanitizer some-- that's new.

I'm glad I have been a prepper most of my life-- taking prepping seriously. And I'm glad I'm not prone to panic.

How can you tell panic from "taking it seriously"?

Maybe the person who failed to prepare and is now desperate to buy treaty paper or bottled water isn't panicking but is only taking the situation seriously... however, if this person is getting into a fight over products in the aisle of the store, they are most likely panicking. They are making things worse, not better.

I'm not going to panic about the disease or about the panic, but I do take both seriously. I take the panic more seriously than I take the disease, seeing it as the far bigger danger.

I hope I've contributed to keeping those around me calm; being a voice of reason (as I see it) in a storm of hyperbole. I think my daughter is taking it in stride pretty well. And it seems my son and his girlfriend are being sensible during this situation, and I hope I've been a good influence there, too.

Of course, I also know people who are neither panicking nor taking it seriously. I hope their choice doesn't lead to trouble for them.

All in all, this situation really hasn't changed my life much, other than the financial blow due to the household (and almost every member of my extended family) losing work. Lots of unpaid "vacation" time and extended time off work. Less money, again. I'm kind of used to that by now-- seeing as how this is the direction it keeps going-- but it's not pleasant at any time. Yet I will be OK. Mostly because I don't panic and I took the risks seriously enough to prepare long before this virus cropped up. I intend to be ready for the Next Big Thing, too, whatever it may be.

I sincerely hope things are going well in your area.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
I hope I add something you find valuable enough to support. If so... Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Find me on Patreon
♡2020 by Author/Artist. Copying is an act of love. Please copy.

Sort:  



Join the community in our migration to Hive, a community built blockchain for the community. All Steem account holders will receive equivalent stake on the new Hive blockchain.

Please see this post on SteemPeak for more information.

Because of my bad living conditions, i am not allowed to keep much reserves, but i have about 90% of what i need to survive the next 3 months

Except many essentials (really need to work that one out... like find a new place)

  • Milk
  • butter
  • chocolate chips
  • ramen. (i had a stock pile but ate through them... and then blam)

i find it interesting that the costing co's have lines that are around the building, in the rain, hoping to get in to get foods. (cause all the TP is gone)

i wonder how the toilet paper industry is going to do through this panic.
Cause, although they have sold out, and selling all the can make, as fast as they can make it... in a month, no one is going to buy any.

This is an illustration of why anti-"gouging" legislation is the wrong thing to do.

With winter and rural life being what they are, we've been fairly well prepared. Some of our stores are a bit lower than we'd like here, but we'll get by nonetheless. I had some cash squirrelled away, and it looks like I'll be paid for lost time. I may not technically be a government employee at my library due to the way they're structured, but we all know the taxes were collected anyway, and so it makes sense to pay us anyway. Government efficiency. Yay.