You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Research published in Nature shows alternate route of SARS-CoV-2 infection NOT present in SARS-CoV-1.

in #coronavirus4 years ago (edited)

I agree with you that it absolutely can be considered a venerable biological weapon. Having such characteristics of a potent biological weapon certainly makes a good argument for it's artificial origins.

However, science and biology aside, we already have the blue prints and general trends which tend to happen during a pre-crisis phase that make the rise and spread of pandemics more likely. We only have to look back to famous previous pandemics such as the plague of Antonine, Black Death, Spanish Flu etc. to see how local highs in human development, societal development, globalization and immiseration are ideal backdrops for widespread crisis and pandemics. Making predictions (though I acknowledge the video was scarily accurate) based on these conditions and drawing on statistical associations in history could yield scarily accurate hypotheses.

That said, I only offer my perspective from a more scientifically rigorous point of view, and there is enough evidence to me that SARS-CoV-2 is the product of evolution and not manufactured.

I'm not married to either idea and I am happy (and open) to be proven wrong.