Creating Junkrat Detonator Prop Update#1

in #cosplay6 years ago


Previously posted: https://steemit.com/overwatch/@antifx/creating-junkrat-detonator-and-mine-replica

I got the button and made sure it fits. I also added a spring to the lever and it seems to be working extremely well. The biggest challenge in this design for what I want to do is getting all the tolerances right. I need a lot of things to be able to move, but if I add too much clearance to parts, then they wobble and do not feel premium. I have done many minor updates to reduce the amount of clearance used, while still maintaining good movement.

The issue I am currently trying to work out is this: The lever portion basically pushes a piece up and into the moving top part. This causes it to lift (as demonstrated in the video). This sometimes has issues, where the top part either will not fall down, or it can sometimes fail to lift. I think it hits a snag and then the piece that is supposed to lift it just gets jammed. I am considering putting a kind of ball shape on the piece that touches the moving top, giving it more surface area and roundness to get past any snags.

Any ideas on that would be greatly appreciated!

I have also been working on the electronics portion of it, it's been going well. I will post about that soon.

Let me know what you think about it, or if I have overlooked something I should fix!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

OMG I love it! :D Hi 5 from another crafter here :3

Thank you! I feel like it still needs a lot more work though!

Hahahaha, I know that feeling xD When I cosplay I'm rarely 100% satisfied with my work, but thats when improvement is! :D

At some point I am going to have to call it good and finish it. Just don't know at what point that will be yet.

Congratulations @antifx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!