You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mask or No Mask: Fight Fear with Love

in #covid-194 years ago

I think it should be a personal choice not government mandated, if you want to wear one go ahead, if not don't! I think we should all have that choice and bare the consequences of our decisions, I think we're making this out to be a polarising and political statement and I feel its pushing people into having to take a position and dig their heels in, I feel you should choose the right situation for you. I feel sad that we have to debate this and people are so passionate about it fighting one another, we should be focusing on helping one another as best we can not worrying about whats on or not on our face

Sort:  

The problem is you're not just choosing for you. You're choosing for everyone you interact with. Wearing a mask protects them. Not wearing a mask puts them at risk.

"Sure, you're free to risk the lives of strangers you interact with throughout the day" is the position you're taking. As one of those potential strangers... no. You refusing to take steps to protect me means you are violating the non-aggression principle by putting my life at risk.

Yes, we should be focusing on helping one another: That means wearing masks, social distancing, washing your hands, and staying home when you can. That's what "focus on helping one another" means right now.

If you're not doing that, then you are, objectively, "not helping one another."

You might appreciate this discussion. I think of it in terms of negative rights vs. positive rights and how it's not an act of aggression to exist. Public spaces vs. private spaces does make it a little confusing as well. I also think it becomes challenging when we don't clearly define what are reasonable vs. unreasonable expectations. During flu season, is it reasonable for me to expect to not get the flu from anyone else if I got outside of my home? Reasonable for me to expect anyone with the flu should stay home or wear a mask, etc?