People wearing masks in their cars... by themselves?

in #covid-194 years ago

Stealing memes is the best way to honor them...

image.png

So on a morning walk today, I noticed some drivers alone in their cars wearing masks. I mean... really? Unless they share that car with an at risk person and they might sneeze on the steering wheel, what’s the point of that? Some of them were fancy, like a piece of clothing someone might wear to define themselves, like a scarf or a hat. Is wearing a mask alone in your car just a way to signal to herd, “Yes, I’m one of you also. I’m compliant and consistent and predictable. You can trust me to act as one of you, as one of the herd, one of the tribe. I belong.”?

I’m all for people wearing masks, staying home, social distancing, whatever they think is appropriate to protect themselves and their family. Doesn’t harm me. No big deal.

What does harm me is millions of people believing in the myth of authority and giving up their freedom in a way that impacts mine (and everyone else’s). Let’s think for ourselves and be rationally consistent. It’s possible I’m missing something important and making a big deal out of nothing (wearing a mask by yourself in a car), but when I look at democide, I see much harm. Governments only have the power they are given.


During my walk, I also took a picture of this flower in the neighborhood. It’s beautiful.

I’m worried about the millions out of work and the potential for bitcoin to go ballistic. Where will that leave those living paycheck to paycheck? Are we ready for economic reset?

image.png


Okay, one last picture from the walk this morning:

image.png

‪Even if a hurricane knocks you over, personal growth is always possible. Evolve your awareness. Be conscious.‬

Sort:  

LOL, I sometimes have a mask on in my car. It's because it's hard to position it correctly, so I do it in my bathroom before leaving the house, then only take it off on the car ride home. But I feel you. It does feel weird having it on in the car. Just easier not to have to mess with it once outside the house.

I heard a spiritual teacher sum up how I feel about masks really clearly recently: that it's about signaling care to people who are immune compromised but need to be out. My mask doesn't protect me unless it's an N95 mask. My cloth mask only protects others from me. My wearing the mask tells them that I care about not infecting them or even making them afraid I might infect them. I don't find that to be a burden.

This is a great answer, thank you.

I was thinking the same thing on my way to work this morning... My first thought was idiot( then i just realized its really just my frustration about the powerlessness of the virus)
I think people just do the best they can. If they actually became more aware, they would also become self aware... After sleeping for so long self awarness can be quite painful...( it is so worth the pain). Most are just happy wearing their masks, hanging on every word of anybody is authority, and watching the nightly news.
The best part of being free is allowing others the freedom to do what they want as long as they are not hurting me or those I care about.....People are just doing the best they can, just like me and you

Yep, agreed. I tried not to be judgemental with my post, but I guess the meme (and all memes) pretty much feed on that energy. People are doing the best they can. I also hope they realize, if they are doing it to feed authoritarian thinking, they are actually causing harm to themselves and others.

We have been socially conditioned since we were young a went to school( indoctrination camp). We sat in one place and then the teacher( boss) would let us have lunch.. If we did as we were told and made the teacher( boss) happy they would give us a good grade( citizen score, credit score). Me? I new it was a scam since 1st grade. Always got it trouble... They would tell my parents that they disnt onow what was wrong. I was smart but didnt give any effort.... ( today they diagnose these kids with ADD)...... The world is Awakening. Yellow Vests , Hong Kong, etc...... We will not sit by idle while they try to assert control. People like you get it. Some dont....

In Israel mask wearing outside the home is compulsory, but very few people are complying.

Its actually quite funny seeing masks worn on ears, arms, tops of heads and virtually every way except the "correct" way.

I'm proud of the Israeli people for giving the big finger to ridiculous rules.
Articles criticising Corona restrictions including mask wearing are published and very popular in the mainstream press.
See eg https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-lockdown-lunacy-1001322696
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-Scaring-people-to-death-1001324557

We have learned something from the Holocaust - that compliance with wrongful authority just gets you killed.

compliance with wrongful authority just gets you killed.

Wow, that's intense.

I hope we find a way through this that is the best path forward for the largest number of people. I'm not against face masks in general, it just didn't make much sense to me in situations where it's only on person by themselves. I'm thankful for the answers and different perspectives here though.

Haha. The dude shaving and brushing his teeth with the face mask on. Too funny.

LOL so true I've been saying the same thing, but people love you outsource their thinking to others, if we didn't, we wouldn't have government

What if the entire purpose of this existence is to learn how to think for ourselves? Maybe government was needed as training wheels early on, but at some point they have to come off so we can evolve.

I think so too but now they’re like overbearing parents who smother us and won’t allow us to think for ourselves! I think that like any organism and organization their goal is to remain relevant and refuse to take a smaller role! Unless we decouple money from them we will never Reduce government power and reach

I haven´t heard anything more stupid in my life than wearing a mask while driving. Oh wait... I actually did...wearing masks in german restaurants.

I’m worried about the millions out of work and the potential for bitcoin to go ballistic. Where will that leave those living paycheck to paycheck? Are we ready for economic reset?

No, most of us are not. That´s why I already bought some Bitcoin for my 70 year old Mum as well.

I've given bitcoin away before and people still don't get it. They either lose it or sell it. I think it will take quite some time before people are ready for cryptocurrency, unfortunately.

Now more than ever, those who have not done so should read this book.
It was written 20 years ago and they already had the vision to foresee what's the future ahead of us.

image.png

Before all of this sanitation stuff started happening, I used to only wear a mask whenever I went to raves. During those times I loved being one of the only people wearing a mask and feeling like a ninja underneath the neon lights. Now, nearly everyone has a mask it seems and it makes me feel like a total rebel to not wear one. Plus I may not get to go to another dance party all of 2020 😢😭😤

I had similar thoughts regarding the change in thinking towards "mask wearing" people. Used to be counter-culture ravers. Now it's the opposite?

Good points, Luke, People want to believe that those in authority have the answers. They give up their freedom to (hopefully) get some security. In reality, they end up with neither. Glad we have Hive and Cryptocurrencies!

Keep up the good work you're doing!

Maybe all the people you see wearing masks while driving are on there way to or from robbing a bank since they don't have jobs anymore?

I hope it doesn't come to that... but it might. :(