Media sensationalism is pushing me towards conspiracy theories

in #covid4 years ago

I'm generally quite mistrusting of the government just in a general and I have very good reasons for feeling that way which I will explain later in this post.

The media's job, at least as far as I can guess, is to keep government or various officials honest right? Well when the media seems to be more interested in misinformation it makes it difficult for me to believe anyone.

6052275_032620ccapelmhursthospitalimg.jpg
source

It began for me with the images of overwhelmed hospitals, particularly the one in Elmhurst Queens, NYC. A reporter or representative of the hospital showed us long lines and basically just presented an impression of panic... only to days later have the hashtag #filmmyhospital trend on Twitter and images of no lines, no panic, no real activity emerge of the exact same place.

EUgh2KGWkAEvlNA.jpg
source

I'm not an expert in panic, but generally when nobody is around panic is easy to avoid. One guy went inside the hospital in Elmhurst to find an empty lobby and then immediately get told that he can not film inside the hospital? huh? Why?

EUkFDpRWoAMLNe.jpg
source

As I start to look into it more an more it starts to become dubious that the person who made the original report on the overwhelmed hospital even works there at all... which is what she claimed.

I don't want to downplay the whole virus thing but at the same time, if there is a genuine panic, where is it? It certainly doesn't appear to be at Elmhurst...


from the aplanetruth 4u channel

I am far from NYC, about as far as one can get from it actually, but my friends who live there all say the same thing - that there isn't really any panic except from the people who are buying into what the TV and social media is saying.


In another article that I actually can verify, the authors attempted to state that South Korea is contemplating using electric wristbands to enforce quarantine. This is a scary sounding headline for anyone that enjoys some semblance of freedom in their lives.

PYH2020040606100001300.jpg
source
this picture was meant to indicate social distancing in Korea... but could it also be because those are the only friggin places to sit?

The article in question actually does kinda tell the truth in that buried in paragraph 3 they do indicate that this is only used on the people who are forced to do unmonitored self-isolation upon arriving from overseas. I know many people, both Korean and non-Korean that live currently in South Korea. I asked them about quarantine and they said "there isn't one." My friend's birthday was yesterday and he showed me pictures of them out riding bicycles and later having drinks at a bar... legally.

Basically, the article was clickbait and gives people the impression that Korea is in full lockdown like a lot of the rest of the world is... but only it isn't like that at all in South Korea right now.


Why is it so impossible for the media of today to simply report what is actually going on? They only encourage or push people like me to go to non main stream media sources in order to get the other side of the story because the media will find the craziest images that they can and then attempt to say that this image, or this scene in the background, is representative of what is going on. If you bother to dig you find that the scene or image was definitely cherry-picked and may even involve stand-in actors and if that is the case... why would you do that?

Other times, they use footage that isn't even from the place they are reporting on.

rty.png
source

Some people say that it is irresponsible of me to downplay this pandemic but how can I possibly not be suspicious when the very people that are supposed to help us know the truth seem to be actively preventing us from knowing the truth?

As for my mistrust in the government: I worked for 2 federal agencies when I lived in USA. We would lie to the public on a regular basis over trivial shit that didn't actually mean anything. I have no idea why we did that, but we did do it. So I have a profound distrust of government because of this first-hand experience. If we would lie about why the E.P.A. is plugging oil wells in Southern Illinois we certainly would lie about how we are handling a pandemic.

But now we also can't trust the people that are meant to be exposing those government lies... So I ask, who can we trust?

I go down a rabbit hole of what is dubbed as "conspiracy theory" of youtube clips and websites but I wouldn't fucking need to do that if someone in traditional sources of information would tell the damn truth every once and a while.

Am I crazy here? Do you feel the same way?

Sort:  

Wow, that is pretty crazy! That whole image from Italy but claiming to be in New York really brings it all home doesn't it. It really sucks when you find a news source that you have come to trust is actually pulling the same shenanigans all of the other ones are. You should check out some of the stuff @rok-sivante has been posting. I think you might find it interesting.

In my opinion, sensationalist media pretty much started back when Ted Turner invented the 24 hour news network we now know as CNN. They had to work hard to fill those 24 hours with something as boring as news, so they made it like watching sports matches, but the opposing team was conservatism.

Then Murdoch launched fox news which was the conservative answer, just as sensationalist but wacko in the other direction.

Now you have 50 different news stations battling it out to see who can stun and startle you the most and keep you glued to the screen.

The truth no longer matters.. what is a little exaggeration if it means more eyeballs on the screen. Just throw some misleading headlines out there; most people won't even read the details.

Who would have guessed 50 years ago that the news media itself would be actually creating our reality for us. Scary times, dude... It is impossible to know what is real anymore. We live in the movie Idiocracy at this point!

Anchorman 2 touches base on this and I've read that the precursor to 24 hour news was a show that I bet you remember called 60 minutes. The first kinda news kinda op-ed show ever. And people loved it.

Oh yeah, I didn't think about that. I remember 60 minutes being super dramatic when I was a kid. That ticking clock. Lol

Loading...

@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

I'm with you. Not exactly on the pandemic being a conspiracy but I agree that the mainstream media is blowing things out of proportion. Ultimately, what's the aim of the media? They just want attention and viewership. The more they sensationalize the more people will pay attention.

I know the media blows things up but if there was ever a time for them to maybe not do this it is now. I remember photos of AOC crying at a fence that was meant to be a detention center but it turns out it was a parking lot and the fence could easily be walked around. That was political hype and is expected.... what is the objective here though? Make people take it seriously? I think they already are.

yeah that was pretty bad but at this point i feel as though politicians get a pass because it is just expected of them at this point. For news stations to orchestrate that sort of crap though, which they probably did, is pathetic.

Aloha @gooddream!

There are indeed many inconsistencies. This only serves the disinformation strategy of the global elite (the powerful 1%, think of the Oxfam study or the ETH Zurich study).

The aim of disinformation is to create confusion and mistrust between people.

In addition to the well-researched information provided by independent journalists and bloggers, deliberate theories against the global elite are spread, which ensure that those people who jump on this bandwagon are branded as lunatics or conspiracy theorists, after these false staged theories are convicted by serious investigative journalism.

That is why one must always differentiate strongly.

I wrote a post about Bill Gates' psychopathic dream of mass vaccination with ID tagging, which has been dismissed as a conspiracy theory about RFID implants for years.

If you want, you can take a look at it. My posts always have references and links, so you can check them if you want.

https://peakd.com/freedom/@fago/show-resistance-to-compulsory-vaccination-english-german

Some other posts of mine also shed light on the background of COVID 19.

https://peakd.com/freedom/@fago/is-there-a-connection-between-the-rockefeller-foundation-and-the-corona-crisis

https://peakd.com/health/@fago/exposure-to-air-pollution-and-covid-19-mortality-in-the-united-states

Keep it up and follow your heart. You are not alone!

May the Good be with you!

hey thanks pal... i'll dig into those posts when i get home tonight. It is appreciated!

Aloha @gooddream!

The countermovement begins!
https://peakd.com/pandemic/@fago/demonstration-in-berlin-against-fake-covid-19-pandemic

With video of the demonstration.

Spread this message if you like it!

May the Good be with you!

Howdy sir gooddream! I couldn't agree more. We are forced to go to alternative media to help us get an idea of what could really be going on. Bytheway, why was the EPA plugging oil wells in Southern Illinois?

well officially it was because of potential contamination of the nearby rivers which hadn't happened and was extremely unlikely to ever happen. But the real reason was siphoning public money into private pockets.

Oh, that sounds like a typical politicians move! Are things like that why you got out of working for the government?

It's kinda why I got out of working there. I sadly don't have a great deal of ethics when it comes to employment so it's not like i quit on ethical grounds. Mostly I quit because while it sounds great to get paid $30 an hour to do essentially nothing - I maybe had 30 minutes of actual work to do each day - it gets really old turning up to work for 8 hours (10-14 hours if we were on site) each day and just staring at a computer screen with nothing really to do, ever.

But at least I learned on a very micro scale why it is that government budgets so easily get completely out of control. I saw so much waste when i was employed in those positions that I think that everything they do, including and especially my salary, was a complete waste of time and money.

I agree, that kind of job would be nightmarishly boring. Mrs. J. works for the county government and even at that level the waste is astounding! And in her profession the worst, most worthless and laziest people are the ones in charge. lol.

Howdy sir gooddream! I couldn't agree more. We are forced to go to alternative media to help us get an idea of what could really be going on. Bytheway, why was the EPA plugging oil wells in Southern Illinois?

I nearly laughed at this:

The media's job, at least as far as I can guess, is to keep government or various officials honest right?

If the media is in control of someone, it's the government or another similar power, and I don't have much faith in the honesty of those who have that much power. They have too much to lose if they told the (whole) truth.