269 new cases over a three day period for my province

in #covid4 years ago

Getting to over 900 active cases and between 65-90 cases a day in BC, Canada is not a good sign.

If most people recover within 2 weeks the active cases may stay below 1400 but I reckon the r naught (R0) the rate at which virus is transmitted per active case is above 1.

It has to be for the virus to be growing from 10 new cases per day to 65+ new cases per day

I assume the R0 goes down the more people are infected as it's harder to keep growing exponentially and maybe the province will actually shut down offices again but who knows? I think they should and let me work from home 100% of the time instead of 50%

R0 tells you the average number of people who will contract a contagious disease from one person with that disease. It specifically applies to a population of people who were previously free of infection and haven’t been vaccinated.

https://www.healthline.com/health/r-nought-reproduction-number