My first Badge on OpenPandemics!

in #covid4 years ago

Capture.PNG

Just looked in my World Community Grid results page and I saw I got my first badge on the new OpenPandemics project for 14+ days of compute time.

My hardware list is:
VPS, 1 core, 24 hours a day
Home PC, 8 cores, 10 hours a day
Home Laptop, 6 cores, 10 hours a day
Rock64, 1 core, 24 hours a day
RaspberryPi 3, 3 cores, 24 hours a day
Galaxy s10e, 4 cores, 5 hours a day

I am also running other COVID related projects like Rosetta@Home, so quite pleased with my first badge so quickly.

Together, we can find a vaccine/cure, come and join BOINC and Team Gridcoin!

Sort:  

Congrats. The Galaxy seems to manage a good rate.

Yeah, BOINC Android app default sets the battery temperature limit at 40 DegC which I feel is quite high, so I set mine to 28 DegC and I find that prevents any battery damage. Of course it does limit the time the phone is working especially in the summer.

I run Dreamlab on my phone and that also seems to stop if the phone gets too hot. I guess it uses a little more power when charging and it is running. If I had a solar-setup with excess power I might run more such projects.

You may remember I do have a solar array, on these summer days even with all my kit running we are often exporting significant amounts of energy to the grid, so a little science is a good way to use it at home.

I had a feeling you did. We do have a small panel on our summerhouse with a car battery charging from it. I'm tempted to install a Pi there to do something fun.

Go for it. I dont have a battery solution which us something I keep revisiting, but for a home its still quite a big investment.

I expect that will get cheaper. There should be lots of used EV batteries available in coming years that would be viable for home use.