Covid19 - to reopen or not to reopen

in #covid194 years ago

Let me ramble. These are my thoughts, I am not trying to say what people and government should do. I am just trying to raise questions and start a discussion.

I live in Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada and we just had day 16 with zero new cases. Graphic from government website below:

emhtm9.png

We are doing really well. Let me jump to Canada as a whole. Numbers going down overall with a few places rising.

ubmlyf.png
Graphic from CTV News.

Next I will put up a graphic of the USA:

iicwbw.png

They seem to be starting to increase as the country opens up. Now a graphic of the world.

3s4vlm.png

So the world is now hitting 100,000 plus cases a day.

So, what does local government try and do. Here they have a plan, a strict plan. 28 days at least between each stage of reopening. That is two full cycles of infection incubation. Some people think it is to slow, some think to fast. But that is human nature.

I know governments around the world have stated that they can put measures back in place but that will make it hard to enforce I think. Could be wrong.

I personally find it frustrating to go out in public. Social distancing has gone out the window here, masks are, guessing, 1 in 20. If I did not know there was a pandemic I would never guess there was.

Back to my question. How is a government like mine supposed to act when we have such numbers when the rest of the world is not doing so well.

Believe me I do understand the importance of the economy and the need to restart it.

But it really bothers me when I hear the truth that the government's can reduce restrictions because they have room in hospitals and ICU beds. Not because the virus is gone.

We have to learn to live with it. Economy needs to restart. How many deaths are worth the cost?

Three simple things keep being stated: social distancing, wear a mask, wash your hands. Maybe just maybe if we listen we can get some sence or normal back.

Back to where I live. After seeing how people are acting if we don't see cases in the next week or two then our government did one bang up job at the start to stomp this out here.

Bradley

Sort:  

Wow glad to hear you guys doing well. Wish I could say the same here. Not sure when the lockdown will ease up. Stay safe!

!bro

bro.gif

FAILED BRO-FIST

You have exceeded your daily limit!

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3

What does that mean?