My Introduction to the Hive Community

in OCD4 years ago

It has been quite awhile since I created an introduction post. I definitely like the idea. So much has changed since I joined in 2017. Users have come and gone, acquaintances made and lost. It is surely a nice time to get to know everyone again and/or get to know the new 2020 Hive users!

KIMG0600.JPG

Hello everyone, my name is Adam. I have happily been a part of this community since 2017. I love this blockchain and I believe it can change the world. I consider myself a writer, as cringey as it sounds. I'm not formally trained by a college or anything. I have never been employed by any sort of blogging or writing companies/organizations or whatever. Is blogging and writing the same thing? I guess they're similar, I don't know.

I am not a super amazing writer by any means, but I am ok enough and I try my best to stay in my lane. Sometimes I write about other stuff. When I do I either do my best to do my research or I openly admit I don't know what I'm talking about. So yeah.

I am also a proud father of a five year-old boy. Every day I learn something new by being a parent. It is an intense challenge that I love.

Steem Discovery

In 2017 I was going through a lot and was very stressed. I wanted to write and start some kind of a blog. My ultimate goal one day is to write a book, maybe books.

I don't mind working or working hard. But I was scared of having zero options other than working forty hours a week. Thanks to my mostly poor life decisions, I didn't and still don't, have many other options. I wanted to give myself a chance at something different.

I was in the middle of trying to hustle through various ideas and just try to learn whatever I could. I learned a little about Amazon affiliates. Seemed annoying and kinda weird. I made and used a couple of meme and sport pages on Facebook. That was ok I guess at times. I tried to use Google's blogging service which was kinda boring and also just felt hopeless. I was trying out Reddit to see how that site worked and that site seemed to be cool but also a little confusing. At this point in time I did not know what I was after or anything. I just was trying to create an unknown opportunity.

I always felt in my gut there was a way to pull money out of the internet, I just had to figure it out. I felt this way for a long time. I just had to figure out a way to change the zeros in my life to higher numbers. I was no hacker or thief, that wasn't my intention but I just always had that idea. I didn't want to be Supreme Patty or some other wild attention seeking figure. I didn't want kiss anyone's butt. I figure if Instagram models can make an extremely nice living because they possess a nice butt, then I should also be able to make a little money online somehow too.

One day while I was on Reddit I clicked on and started watching a video with some British dude narrating it. On the screen was Steemit's home page with all of the dollar signs everywhere. The guy talking was explaining how it could be cool to make money by making memes, and on this new website you could do so.

I didn't even listen much longer than that before I went and signed up. I was broke and thought it seemed cool. I definitely thought it was too good to be true but I was so broke that I really had nothing to lose. I signed up and waited the two weeks.

I was excited to receive that e-mail, because I am a hopeless romantic and was hopeful that this site was as good as I was thinking it could be. I remember I was highly happy that throughout the signup I wasn't asked to provide my card info or anything more personal than an e-mail address. That was impressive. I had tried many sites that said they would pay bloggers, but every time I had to give away a bunch of my info.

I will always remember the first time I logged in. I was amazed. People making money for just posting whatever they wanted it seemed. Writing, poetry, science, sports, videos, etc. Opportunity everywhere! I remember I truly thought it could still be bull-crap. I clicked on a video of a user creating some kind of vlog and I was trying to determine if the user was some kind of Steemit actor! Soon I would start to realize this person was no actor. The opportunity here was real. Everything was real. I have been hooked ever since.

It took awhile to really understand what Steem and Steem Dollars were. I remember when I had no clue what Powering Down meant. It took me awhile to even fully understand that Steemit was related with a crypto currency. It was a massive learning experience for me. There are people who doubt that making money through people voting on blog posts is a system that is valuable or that will last. I say why not? I can't tell you how many times I have hesitated to do something cool throughout my life and regretted it.

For awhile I kind of wrote about whatever. But soon I realized that trying to be purely original and creative all the time is pretty exhausting. So soon I came to the realization that I should try to play to my strengths the best I can. Then slowly I can also try to dip into other subjects. As long as I know my lane, I can hopefully consistently enough make posts.

If there is one thing I know about since I was a child, that thing is the American football team the Tennessee Titans. I know its sort of predictable and basic. But I am confident and passionate about this team! Thanks to Hive and the existence of the Communities feature I can kind of play out my childhood dream. I am basically becoming a Titans writer with a Titans fansite simply because I feel like it. At least that's kind of my goal.

I know Hive isn't exactly packed full of sports fans, but there are a few. I am certain I am the only Titans fan here! I certainly hope one day that changes. Until then I will be cranking out Titans content as often as I can. If you ever wanted to follow an NFL team maybe join the community I created and stay on top of the Titans! Lets have the Titans be the unofficial team of this blockchain :P hehe.

Check out the Titans Football Fans Community!

Meanwhile I can talk about other stuff when I feel the urge to rant. I enjoy mostly all the American sports. I like conspiracies. I like current events sometimes. I am just kind of an internet sports junkie.

Anyway, that's me. Just a normal dude. I also have a friend named Mary Jane I chat with often! :)

Feel free to follow me, I follow most back!

Just living life! Hive on!

Sort:  

Manually curated by @minnowvotes

Thank you very much!

Welcome again!
I've been reading your stuff for awhile now. Not much of a sports fan myself (except UFC) but keep it up! :)

Thanks, I should make a UFC post one of these days. I was super impressed with Charles Oliveira in his last performance. It was pretty iconic too considering the whole look of it with no crowd in attendance! He has been hot in general lately. I am excited to see how he continues to match-up with other higher caliber lightweights! Of course I am MEGA excited for Khabib versus Tony!!! That is one of the greatest fights ever!

Yea Tony vs Khabib should be epic!
looking forward to that one as well. :)