Is that still going?

in #linux4 years ago

I can't believe that an article I wrote back in 2012 (It might have been even earlier as I imported a lot of stuff when I revamped the site a few years back) Proxmox – iSCSI is, according to Google, "Growing" in interest! I mean, it's so out of date it can't possibly be of any use?

I can, on the other hand, understand why the Arch Linux is dead! article still gets attention. It's one of those distributions most of us in the FOSS community have heard of, a good portion of us have lost an eye, three teeth and broken some fingers not only installing it but running it for any length of time. Show me a user who has never had a broken Arch system and I'll show you a fibber.

That's the thing about the Web, there's so much rubbish floating around out there that Google along with many other search engines still throws up your ancient content when some poor soul searches for the most simple of things. Maybe everything should have an expiry date? A five-year lifespan? But then you face the dilemma of "Ceasing to be!" everyone posts stuff to be noticed, to have a voice, even to be remembered. It's a nice feeling to write something and know that it's 'out there' waiting for someone to come along and look at it an,d if they comment on it, well, you're now a celebrity, aren't you? Someone that has hooked another person on the bait of what you have written after all that's why you wrote it isn't it? Who, for example, posts on Twitter without the slightest interest in getting a response? Nobody! And how many times have you looked up that old message to validate something "There you go, and I wrote that back in 2007!" so sadly unless authors implement a 'Published timeframe' the web is just a lucky dip bin if truth be told.

"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Never underestimate the power of what is deemed to be out-of-date information! A few years back I responsible for infrastructure operations for a global organisation. We had so much legacy kit it was unreal! When issues hit the only route was to roll your sleeves up and get stuck in to the Interwebs!

Also I imagine, like myself there are a lot of people out there at the moment who are looking to retrain/learn more. I studied the CompTIA A+ syllabus a few years back for a job interview and that covers some of the old tech.

There's a flaw though in that argument. I suspect most people searching for answers are doing so because they "don't know" which means they could very well follow information blindly. It's only people "In the know" who can spot that something is out of date or now totally incompatible with up-to-date methods. For example, I set up my own Pleroma instance I followed what appeared to be the official guide and installed badly only to find out that the information was out of date. Now the site works, kind of, but I can't for some reason update the letsencrypt certificate so you have to either add an exception to your browser or use the now insecure http protocol. Really, I should wipe it and start again but I'm far too lazy for that.


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!