You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is that still going?

in #linux4 years ago

Never underestimate the power of what is deemed to be out-of-date information! A few years back I responsible for infrastructure operations for a global organisation. We had so much legacy kit it was unreal! When issues hit the only route was to roll your sleeves up and get stuck in to the Interwebs!

Also I imagine, like myself there are a lot of people out there at the moment who are looking to retrain/learn more. I studied the CompTIA A+ syllabus a few years back for a job interview and that covers some of the old tech.

Sort:  

There's a flaw though in that argument. I suspect most people searching for answers are doing so because they "don't know" which means they could very well follow information blindly. It's only people "In the know" who can spot that something is out of date or now totally incompatible with up-to-date methods. For example, I set up my own Pleroma instance I followed what appeared to be the official guide and installed badly only to find out that the information was out of date. Now the site works, kind of, but I can't for some reason update the letsencrypt certificate so you have to either add an exception to your browser or use the now insecure http protocol. Really, I should wipe it and start again but I'm far too lazy for that.


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!