My Intro Selfie 3D Printed Name and Date Plate

in #creative7 years ago

Introductions need a selfie with your username and date.
So I decided to 3D print mine.


How did I do this?


Converting an image into a 3D model requires a few processes.

I found a Steemit logo on google images that I wanted to use.




I convert the photo to an SVG file with

The SVG can be directly edited on


After editing I download the model in an STL file.
The STL file allows me to edit the model more on SketchUp, Fusion 360, or dropped directly into my printing software.

SketchUp: Model Design


SketchUp is a free modeling software that I use for very basic designs such as this plate.

Simplify3D: Print preview.


Simplify3D allows me complete control over every aspect of my printers. The print preview shows every line and layer where material is going to be placed. If I see any issues, such as lines being too thin or too thick, then I can quickly change the printing process.

After heating up the printer, loading the material I want, and double checking my print file I can start printing.

This is a basic outline for creating something very simple. If you have questions, please ask. I'd be happy to explain more.



I have a few interesting things to share with you.
Follow Me, maybe...

Sort:  

Wow! I wish to learn that also. 3D printing is really fascinating nowadays.

It is amazing. It's really an art for those with 3D printers. The temperatures, speeds, and processes are adjustable to get unique surface textures, increased strength, or flexibility in some materials. The materials available now can be very extreme.

A for effort, and for quality.

Good stuff man :)

Thanks! I'll definitely have more.

Nice job 3D printing

Thank you! I definitely have more to show. Lately I've been mastering flexible materials, which is really hard to print with for several reasons.