Conway's Game of Life

in #creative7 years ago

TL;DR: I'm not very good at math. I don't study AI. I'm just a creative guy.


I learned of Conway's Game of Life a few weeks ago, while listening to Joscha Bach give a lecture concerning cognitive AI. I then spent the following 4 hours learning how to use Golly (the game platform). Once I found my bearings, I got creative. (example shown below)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I appreciate the game for what it is — a creative endeavor (imho). Infinite creativity facilitated by an efficient algorithm. An effective algorithm embodied through striking productions. To a pattern seeking mind, this is life. A game of chaos & order, black & white.

Despite my laymen understanding of the game & its true purpose, I have a few (unfounded?) questions:

  1. Is this a study of the macro or micro?
  2. Is this a pure or applied science?
  3. How many dimensions can be simulated?
  4. Am I looking at bits of data, or bits of reality?
  5. What distinguishes the player, the game, & the observer?
  6. Suppose (basic) quantum mechanics are written into the game's rules. What happens?
  7. Two prime elements are present in the game: on & off (1 & 0). Can you introduce a third?
  8. Can other maths be represented (in) & applied to the game? (e.g. physics, irrational numbers, encryption, etc.)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Thanks for reading/watching!

Sort:  

Congratulations @teagodii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!