Phoenix. Pen drawing.

Hello everyone,

Today I would like to show you this commission I just finished for a client. It was a personal commission and basically all they said was for me to do my take on the mythical phoenix bird and run with it. So, that's exactly what I did. I sent them progress pictures of it while I was working on it just to make sure everything was in order.

Phoenix_geoff_s.jpg

Here is the final piece at 16x16". Which is pretty big for me.

Phoenix_geoff_detail1.jpg

Head and partial background detail. The left side is composed of tiny bricks. And the right I hid little dark faces in the background and cross-hatched over them.

Phoenix_geoff_detail2.jpg

The torso area I decided to put in a bird fetus and some other friends coming out to say hello.

Phoenix_detail3.jpg

Feet and toes.

phoenix_geoff_detail4.jpg

moon/sun/planet

phoenix_geoff_detail5.jpg

More of the left side pattern and wing.

I did this drawing on watercolor paper.

My instagram if you're into that: https://www.instagram.com/anthonychristopherart/

Thanks for having a look.
Copyright @achristopherart.
All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

this is so cool. Love the fetal phoenix inside. The little dark faces are very well hidden, I did not notice in the big picture but they are a great detail, glad you pointed that out! This is a really cool take on the phoenix. Awesome!

Thank you. I was playing around with the idea of doing fire... but honestly I have not seen fire done well with pen and ink at all. Maybe some old etchings.. but I think it's because since fire is constantly moving and changing shape it looks weird in a captured image.

or it would look like a comic or a cartoon, so I avoided fire.

yeah I think that was a good choice. Breathed some fresh life, or undeath as it were, on this legendary bird :)

This one is very unique, never saw something like this before

Wow! excellent texture work! I am fascinated by the movement caused by the bricks and how good they look in contrast to the direction of the wing details! D: How long did it take you to do this?

Thank you. It's tough to say.. I don't really keep track of the hours. I would say 23-30 hours. I know it's a big range but I really don't know. I feel like the background on both sides took 8-10 hours easily.

Well, it feels the dedication of time. It is a great job. Congratulations again! :3

Wow, this pen drawing is masterpiece I must say

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it.
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it



This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here