Love for reading/L'amore per la lettura (ENG - ITA)

in #creativecoin5 years ago

EN (Italian below)

One day, a librarian in a French school sent me a message that said, “Would you like to participate in our illustrations contest? The topic is the love for reading, the illustrations will be chosen by the children of the school and the winner will be exhibited in our library.”

My answer was: “Obviously yes! :D”


Let me first say that I am a passionate reader, sadly I read much less than I would like to read, but I do it with passion. Each book I read changed me in a way and made me a better person. This is shortly the reason why I thought, “this topic is perfect and I can’t wait to have fun with it!

For this particular occasion, I wanted to try with a collage, so...I took my magazines, my scissors and I started to search.

Looking for inspiration


My favourite way to look for inspiration is probably randomly, without a precise direction, just picking what resonates with me. Perhaps that is why I have so much fun with collage!
Let’s be honest, I don’t have much experience with collage and I just do it my way, but I really would like to continue exploring this world.
img130.jpg

The process

  • The first call came from a photo of a lady, flipping through a big book, but I thought: “I can’t simply glue her just like that, I would like to come up with a character without a specific age, without colour and gender, I would like to create the chance for everyone to recognize themselves in the character.” Kind of ambitious but cute, so I kept searching, until I found a colourful texture.
  • It looks like thin wool with dominant blue.
    Here I saw, for some reason, the perfect face for my character.
    In Italian, the weft of a fabric and the plot of a book have the same word: trama. Which is a very romantic detail, if you think about it, because the plot of a book can be sewn on our soul just like the most beautiful dress can be sewn on our skin.
  • I wanted to make bloom some green leaf from the head of the reader, because it is a bit like that, those who reads are open minded, welcoming, and many wonders come out from their minds making the world alive.
  • Then I decided I wanted nature all around, since books bring us closer to reality, and I made the sun, the clouds and many trees made of words (if you are wondering about the language, that’s Latvian).
    img010 (6).jpg
  • I painted the background with watercolours, to make it like a delicate sky, with overlapping natural elements with bright colours.
  • Finally, I decide to add little animals to represent the characters from books, which can touch our souls with their stories, come to life, encouraging us to keep going, with reading and with life. They are there, following the story with us, until the end of the book and beyond.
    I hope you liked my collage and I hope to keep having so much fun with many more of them.
    Let me know what you think about this work, my creative process and if you have suggestions to give me about the amazing art of collage

IT

Un bibliotecario in una scuola francese un giorno mi manda un messaggio e mi dice: Vorresti partecipare al nostro concorso di illustrazioni sul tema dell’amore per la lettura? Le illustrazioni saranno scelte dai bambini e la vincitrice verrà esposta nella nostra biblioteca della scuola.

E io gli rispondo: e certo che sì! :D


Premetto che sono una lettrice appassionata, leggo molto meno di quanto vorrei purtroppo, ma lo faccio con passione. Ogni libro che ho letto mi ha cambiata e resa una persona migliore. Devo tanto ai libri e alla lettura, perciò questo era proprio un tema che fa per me e non vedevo l’ora di divertirmi.

Questa volta mi sentivo di voler provare con un collage e così...
Ho preso le mie riviste, le mie forbici e ho iniziato a sfogliare.

Alla ricerca dell'ispirazione


Forse il mio modo preferito per cercare l’ispirazione è proprio quello di cercare a caso, senza una direzione precisa, vedere un po’ cosa mi chiama. É forse anche quel che mi diverte tanto del collage!
Metto le mani avanti, non ho tanta esperienza con il collage e lo faccio un po’ a modo mio, ma mi ci diverto talmente tanto che voglio decisamente continuare ad esplorarlo.
img130.jpg

Il processo creativo

  • La prima cosa che mi ha chiamata è stata la foto di una signora che sfogliava un libro gigante, però ho pensato – non posso semplicemente appiccicarla così com’è, e poi vorrei che fosse un personaggio senza età, senza un colore e magari anche senza un sesso ben definito, vorrei che chiunque potesse riconoscersi in questo personaggio –
  • E così ho continuato a cercare, fino a quando non ho trovato una trama variopinta, come fosse di lana sottile con una dominanza di blu. Per qualche ragione ci ho visto il viso del mio personaggio.
    Mi è piaciuta l’idea che ci fosse una trama cucita sul suo viso. Un po’ a simboleggiare il fatto che le trame dei libri ci si cuciano addosso e ci rendono quel che siamo.
  • Ho voluto anche che germogliassero delle foglie verdi dalla testa di chi legge, perché è un po’ così, chi legge ha la mente aperta, accogliente e gli germogliano in testa tante meraviglie che portano più vita in questo mondo.
  • Poi ho pensato che volevo tanta natura intorno, perché i libri in fondo ci avvicinano di più alla realtà. Così ho fatto un sole, delle nuvole e tanti alberi fatti di parole (se vi chiedete in che lingua, è in lettone).
    img010 (6).jpg
  • Il tocco finale è stato dato dagli acquerelli, per creare uno sfondo colorato ma delicato, con tanto cielo tutto intorno e delle sovrapposizioni di elementi naturali dai colori accesi.
  • Per finire ho voluto aggiungere degli animaletti a rappresentare tutti i personaggi dei libri, che un po’ prendono vita, ci sfiorano e ci incoraggiano ad andare avanti, con la lettura e nella vita, ci stanno accanto, seguono la narrazione insieme a noi fino alla fine del libro e oltre.

Spero che questo mio collage ti piaccia e che sia uno dei tanti che mi faranno divertire.
Fammi sapere cosa ne pensi e se hai dei consigli per migliorare in questa meravigliosa arte del collage


Ogni disegno presente in questa pagina è mio e personale
All the drawings in this page are mine and personal

If you want to read more/se vuoi leggere di più:

Sort:  
Questo post è stato selezionato, votato e condiviso dal team curatori di discovery-it in collaborazione con la community di C-Squared Curation Collective. Puoi utilizzare il tag #discovery-it per rendere i tuoi post di facile reperibilità agli occhi dei curatori. Ti invitiamo inoltre a votare @c-squared come witness per supportare questo progetto.

This post was selected, voted and shared by the discovery-it curation team in collaboration with the C-Squared Curation Collective. You can use the #Discovery-it tag to make your posts easy to find in the eyes of the curator. We also encourage you to vote @c-squared as a witness to support this project.

Congratulations @francyland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Molto bello ^^ e anche molto fantasioso. Ma ora ho una domanda... Perché il lettone? 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Grazie 😊 eheheh il lettone perché ho vissuto in Lettonia per 4 anni e il mio partner è lettone.

Hello @francyland, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for supporting 😊