first spring nature walk

in #creativecoin4 years ago (edited)

image.png


nature always seem to capture my imagination, whether its the designs in dead tree bark, the shimmer of sun on water or the first sign of life hidden in the debris of autumn. i'm constantly amazed by the aesthetic wonder and creative genius nature has to offer if we are willing to be patient.

image.png

i've been away for a while. isolating before it became recently fashionable. introverts look at the world differently, and this is the lens thru which i view and live life.

this past winter was difficult, the cold keeping me inside more often than not, rusting my ancient bones in place. so when i finally found a sunny day in between colorado's mini blizzards, i wound up on my usual adventure trek through the local sawmill pond preserve, wherein i took a few hundred photos. i'll share a few of my favorites here.

image.png
still mostly wild winter grasses and bare trees as i meandered along the many paths

image.png
wild strawberries from last season hiding along the embankment

image.png
orange lichen grow as a field of wild flower on this empty canvas of bark

image.png
a limpet like dried up flower still retains some natural grace

image.png
the first vibrant signs of spring, buried under a layer of yellowed grass

image.png
spiny cactus hides underfoot, the yellow spikes blending in well with the grass

image.png
talk about sticking things, you'd never guess what this innocuous little plant can do

image.png
stickems come in all shapes and sizes; the dried seed pods attach to clothes and need to be picked off one by one

image.png
remains of last years harvest

image.png
desert flowers amaze me with the way they spawn wind seeds to self propagate

image.png
the secret life of water plants

image.png
the magic of water alludes to an untouchable world below the surface

image.png
water can look light and gentle or dark and deep, but always mysterious

image.png
peaceful is best, when the last light of day plays along the shimmering ripples

image.png
i call this one fingerfalls because the wood paints ghostly fingers of water cascading into a cold plunge and spray

image.png
most people consider wood static, but bark has an energy of its own in the slow of the grain

image.png
each piece can by a thumbprint, a sculpture or a masterful work of art

image.png
still others can mimic the fossilized bones of the ancients

image.png

a gorgeous sunset to finish an enjoyable day, despite the dystopian world of human crises. still, life goes on. and in it we find the peace we need for the coming days ahead.

Sort:  

Still snow and blah here, so, thanks for that. I almost forgot what water looks like.

it's lovely to see a sunny day after so much gloom, but winter will be back in the morning :(

Wow @torico! What a gorgeous collection of photos. They really flow together. Did you get a new camera?

ha! thanks for that. i was just thinking how mediocre my photos are because my skills are rusty and my camera needs servicing. some of the wood photos came out particularly well, but i'll credit the lovely day for all of that.

The wood photos I liked a lot, and the macro shots of seeds and strawberries had really great depth. This one might be my favorite though, I am not 100% sure why but it really speaks to me!

thats unexpected! perhaps because the tentacles of plant root are almost an alien life form? i like it because the light and energy edges right up next to the dark decay.

ironically my favorite pic might just be the winter scene!? after that the macro of spring. the plants in that were no bigger than the tip of my finger.. image.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The feeling of experiencing spring is what a wonderful feeling. I don't know what is spring but by watching it, it seems awesome. Just a little curious, were these images taken long ago or just now? I'm just wondering if your place haven't experienced quarantine because of the virus?

spring is on ongoing event and i hope to witness it slowly over the next few months! except for the winter scene, all of these images were taken on March 25 2020. the park i went to is fairly large - 102 acres. even though my state is in lockdown, we are allowed out for exercise. i live in the country, many miles from any town, so it is easy to hop in my car and drive to several parks in less than ten minutes. i saw a few people from a distance but everyone is good about following the distance rules. for most of my walk i barely saw anyone because there are so many different trails and the space is very open so all one has to do is move away from the path to avoid others. I am quite lucky to live where I do!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

thank you :)

Thanks always for the walks, reply to my message so I can cast a vote at least to your reply :( I've been over 40 days, hard to keep myself sane if not for music LOL

Congratulations @torico! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 110000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 115000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello! Let me know if there is a meetup for Colorado! I would love to support it and join everyone! Im in Denver/Boulder area