He couldn't swallow his own medicine, but I forced it through his gullet


image source

What! You mean he............? Yes, he did. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it.

My phone rang one morning, and it was him calling. "Hello, my gee. I've been longing to reach you for days but to no avail. Where the heck are you?

I'm alive and healthy at my hostel. What about you? When are you coming around? We are already three weeks into the new semester, and you are still at home sucking Mama's breast," I replied, and we laughed over the conversation

"But wait," he cut in, interrupting the sweet moment of laughter. "You just asked why I've not resumed, and the answer is very straightforward. I can't afford to rent my apartment. I can only raise 25% payment for the cheapest hostel"

"I'm very lucky," I said to myself. My uncle owns the hostel where I reside, and I pay no dime. I'm the landlord, according to other hostelites

"That's not a problem, my guy. I will talk to my uncle about it, and I believe something good will come out of it," I assured him, and then I hung the call

Have you ever seen a mermaid in reality? "I asked James" and he nodded his head in affirmation. Well, I've seen one in my dreams too, and I would say her beauty is incomparable. Fidel was a symphony of grace. Her laughter swayed like a cadence, spellbinding all who heard it. Her eyes sparkled like stars, illuminating the world with her presence. Each step she took was poetry in motion, leaving behind a trail of admiration. The beauty found its truest expression in her

James cut in "Stop exaggerating jor". "Na so the babe fine reach", he conversed in pidgin English.


Image source

I continued. I called her "mamiwater," because it's a word/name we use to describe unparalleled beauty. Her room was directly opposite mine, and she was my sweet angel, always there for me at all times

As promised, I talked to my uncle, and he agreed that my friend could join us in the hostel and occupy the third room in the VIP section

Wait..... Did he pay? James asked. No, he didn't pay a dime. I had already pleaded with my uncle, and he gave him the room for free. Only the three of us occupied the three rooms

When he finally joined us in the hostel and saw Fidel, he couldn't ignore her beauty, even though he knew she was my girl. She had repeatedly told me about how he looked at her and tried to touch her seductively, which I had also noticed

"Hey, how's it going?" I approached him as a friend, letting him know I had a good plan for Fidel. I expected him to come clean, but instead, he denied it and tagged my tranquil conversation as an insult. What could I do then? I didn't want that to create a rift between us, so I apologized

"Soccer has replaced me in your heart," Fidel said. "You love Manchester United more than me. You cannot miss their game even if I beg you not to go to the soccer house." Fidel wasn't happy about me going out to watch the game that night

James: [speaking pidgin]. How you no go watch the Champions League final against Barcelona. Ha! That one no fit work.

I chuckled, and continued. "We could go together, dear," I tried to persuade her, but she bluntly turned me down. Then I pecked her and rushed out with a promise to get her favorite on my way home

As promised, I bought "Suya," fried potatoes with ketchup, and two bottles of chilled yogurt after watching the Man U game. I couldn't wait to get to the hostel, because I was sure of the warm and sweet welcome I would receive, plus perfect cuddling for the night

James looked at me with one corner of his eyes, and we both laughed, then I went on

In no time, I approached our VIP apartment and was welcomed with an unusual sound. Immediately, I paused. It was a very silent night. The rhythmic chirping sound of the crickets had faded into the thin air, and the toads were observing all-night silence to mourn their king, so they couldn't croak

James paid more attention

The sound became intense, and at that point, I needed no more evidence to decode what was happening. Indeed, Fidel had turned out to be an infidel

Just like in Shaggy's song, "It Wasn't Me," I stayed until it was over. There was no way out; I caught them red-handed

"So what did you do"? James asked.

Nothing. My silence was a killer. They couldn't look at my face. Although what happened was tough on me, it was a blessing in another way because I enjoyed what was meant for two. After munching the suya, I stepped it down with the yogurt and slept off amidst pondering troubling matter

"You are a mumu, meaning a daft," said James. How could you ignore something as big as that? Just calm down, and let me die before you bury me, James.

The day of reckoning arrived

Tola lives seven buildings away from our hostel. Everyone knows her as my friend's girl. Their union is like that of Romeo and Juliet. But I found favor in Tola's eyes in a way that I couldn't explain

With everything that transpired, Fidel and I never broke up, and both of them didn't stop their secret affairs either, thinking I wasn't aware. Certainly, our relationship can't go beyond that circle, so I never gave a damn

But, one day the dark part of me that has always been overshadowed by light finds its way out in the daytime like a solar eclipse. "What if I can have my way with Tola? I can read it on her forehead that she likes me. Even if it's on a platonic basis, I can work something out." This unethical thought kept ringing in my head. The fact that it was morally wrong made me linger until I caught my friend romancing one of our friend's girlfriends one night at the back of the hostel. It made me go mad

Then I made an advancement. Good, good, good, James exclaimed, as he listened quietly! I thought it would take time to have my way, but Tola made things easy the first day I visited her. She liked me even before my friend met her, but she couldn't do otherwise because of Fidel. I never exposed the secret to her. We kept things rolling, and I was waiting for the day the other shoe would drop

When the day finally came, it was blown for blow. He found me lying on her bed with my shirt off, and that was all. He slapped her ferociously, and I went crazy like a bull in a china shop. He couldn't fight with me, but invested the anger on her, which I prevented. I just gave him a taste of his own medicine, and he couldn't swallow it. I taught him the golden rule

Tola gallantly broke up with him without giving it a second thought after the long-time secret was exposed

Tola was mad at me for playing games, but she liked it. We had good times together throughout our journey. As for my gee, he lost on both sides. Fidel became more unfaithful and didn't give him attention any longer. But still, if I snapped my fingers, she would always come for a hug. I never lose my respect in any way

In the end, I thought my friend would change, but I discovered he was a Casanova. Promiscousity was rooted in his genes

Na now I go say you no be mumu, James reverted his word

This happened to me in 2009.

Thanks for reading
This is Ckole the laughing gas
One love