[EN-ES] Creative Nonfiction | In the darkness I found enlightening | En la oscuridad encontré la iluminación

in #creativenonfiction5 months ago (edited)

oscuridad-tenebrosa-uerta-upscaled.png
Source

The last thing I remember is the sound of the padlock closing behind the armored door where I was locked.

With my eyes open or closed, it was simply the same.

I stretched out my arms, searching with my hands for the walls in the midst of the blackness that bored me, I would be in a room, maybe a box, I don't know, I took a step, maybe a step and a half before I stumbled upon a concrete monster that revealed to me that I was in a room, completely closed.

The silence was deafening, my hands embraced and a cold chill ran down my spine, how long had I been there? Who was holding me captive like an exotic animal? Was I in prison or kidnapped?

I could not tell if they were tears or perhaps blood from my encounter with the enclosure.

Like a child, I dropped to the ground and curled up seeking relief from my lonely grief.

My mind began to wander remembering that before oblivion, I lived in a sunny field with sunlight bathing my body, as with a hoe I broke open the soil to plant seeds.

-I don't know if it was my name, but I needed an identity to establish context for my situation.

I rocked for an answer, a spark of heat igniting my skin, it showed me that I was naked, now I could see it clearly.

-I can breathe," I said aloud to myself in the sweltering heat.

There must be a crack somewhere, I stood up again. My hands were caressing the wall and my feet were walking a perfect square, it would be 2 meters by 2 meters and I couldn't reach the ceiling.

-Wait a minute...

I see a small slit, up, way up. A faint light made me understand that it was another night out there, maybe a full moon, the shimmering hope was still lurking.

I hear distant footsteps, flashing murmurs that set the mind alight, I approach a cold doorway and stick my ear close for some sign of life outside.

-The footsteps are moving away," I shout, " Hello? Is anyone there? Help!

My words bounce off the walls, stunned, the footsteps are silenced.

I can only sit and wait, but wait for what?

Another memory, a crackling fireplace crackling, flames from a bonfire as eyes watch my hands warm before a winter cold as death.

I feel a pang of footsteps outside, the imagination lights up, so far I discover that locked up and afraid, hunger is not a priority, nor is the urge to go to the bathroom.

Again, the silence shines like a dagger smiling at me.

-I must find the light," I repeat to myself every second.

Motionless, I lean back from the door and drop to the floor.

-The floor? -Like a child I crawl, looking for something to rattle or smash the door with.

I search and rummage, but there are only light traces of dust, I'm in a desert inside a lonely anti-light.

Another memory, who is she? Whose child is she holding? Why does she keep repeating "stop fighting"?

I sit down again, I cry, I pray, I forget the sounds outside and I remember, I remember the music, Mozart with his creaking sounds and the wonderful voices of a chorale that echoes in my ears like celestial lights that come to rescue me.

I squeeze my eyelids, I cling to the memory of the sunny field, of the campfire and the sparks flashing from the woman's eyes.

oscuridad-tenebrosa-uerta-upscaled (1).png
source

Again silence and despair take hold of me, I hit the walls, I ram my head against the door, barely a dry noise is born, footsteps approach, I hit harder with my skull to demolish my prison, I faint.

I don't know how many hours have passed, it could be days or just minutes, but the darkness becomes eternal, my hands become luminous, I have found the answer, I won't get out of here, I tighten my neck with them, what sense does a story without light have?

The air is short, but I don't give up, I finally see the luminescence, bright light girdles me, my muscles loosen and my body falls to the ground, soon it will all be over.

Mozart is heard more and more faint and the steps have stopped in front of the door, again the silence illuminates everything, this is my last breath, I could hear the door opening before dying, but it was late, that last second I could see everything clearly.

My name was not Jhon, it was Pablo, the woman was my sister holding her son in her arms, the camp was my trade before I became an insurgent soldier for the freedom of my nation, I was a prisoner trapped fighting for leaders who never knew the cold of a trench and Mozart was the peace in the middle of the battles, turning bullets into soft piano keys around me, now all was light, for I myself took my life not to give it to the enemy, who came for me to interrogate me about the position of the soldiers who that morning had won the war.

Freedom came for all, even in the last flash for Pablo, the soldier who was able to see the absolute light at last.


Spanish Version

Lo ultimo que recuerdo es el sonido del candado cerrándose detrás de la puerta blindada donde me encerraron.

Con los ojos abiertos o cerrados, sencillamente era lo mismo.

Extendí mis brazos, buscando con mis manos las paredes en medio de la negrura que me sepultaba, estaría en un cuarto, quizás una caja, no lo sé, di un paso quizás paso y medio antes de tropezar con un monstruo de concreto que me reveló que me encontraba en un cuarto, cerrado completamente.

El silencio era ensordecedor, mis manos se abrazaron y un frio recorrió mi espina dorsal ¿cuánto tiempo llevaba allí? ¿Quién me tenía en cautiverio como un animal exótico? ¿Estaba en prisión o secuestrado?

Por mi frente una gota caliente descendía, no sabría decir si eran lagrimas o tal vez, sangre de mi encuentro contra el cerramiento.

Como niño, me arrojé al suelo y me acurruqué buscando alivio de mi pena solitaria.

Mi mente empezó a divagar recordando que antes del olvido, viví en un campo soleado con la luz solar bañando mi cuerpo, mientras con una azada abría la tierra para plantar semillas.

-Jhon, me llamo Jhon -me dije para no enloquecer, no sé si era mi nombre, pero necesitaba una identidad para establecer contexto de mi situación.

Me mecí buscando una respuesta, una chispa de calor encendiéndome la piel, me enseñó que estaba desnudo, ahora podía verlo claramente.

-Puedo respirar -me dije en voz alta en medio de la sofocante temperatura.

Debe haber una rendija en algún lugar, nuevamente me puse de pie. Mis manos acariciaban la pared y mis pies recorrían un cuadrado perfecto, serían 2 metros por dos metros y no alcanzaba el techo.

-un momento…

Veo una pequeña rendija, arriba, muy arriba. Una tenue luz me hizo entender que era otra noche allá afuera, quizás luna llena, la esperanza reluciente aún estaba merodeando.

Oigo pasos lejanos, murmullos destellantes que encienden la mente, me acerco a una fría puerta y pego mi oreja pegada para buscar algún indicio de vida exterior.

-Los pasos se alejan -Grito- ¿Hola? ¿Hay alguien? ¡Auxilio!

Mis palabras rebotan en las paredes, aturden, los pasos se han silenciado.

Solo puedo sentarme y esperar, pero ¿Esperar que?

Otro recuerdo, una chimenea de chispeante crepitar, llamas de una hoguera mientras los ojos ven mis manos calentarseante un invierno frio como la muerte.

Siento un paneo de pasos afuera, la imaginación se enciende, hasta ahora descubro que encerrado y con miedo el hambre no es prioridad, como no lo es tampoco las ganas de ir al baño.

De nuevo el silencio fulgura como una daga sonriéndome.

-Debo hallar la luz -me repito cada segundo.

Inmóvil, me recuesto de la puerta y me dejo caer al suelo.

-¿El suelo? -como un niño gateo buscando algo con que sonar o destrozar la puerta.

Busco y rebusco, pero solo hay ligeros rastros de polvo, estoy en un desierto dentro de una solitaria anti luz.

Otro recuerdo, ella ¿Quién es? ¿De quien es el niño que sostiene? ¿Por qué me repite “deja de luchar”?

Me siento de nuevo, lloro, oro, olvido los sonidos del exterior y recuerdo, recuerdo la música, a Mozart con sus chirriantes sonidos y las maravillosas voces de una coral que retumba en mis oídos como luces celestes que vienen a recatarme.

Aprieto mis parpado, me aferro al recuerdo del campo soleado, de la fogata y las chispas que destellan desde los ojos de la mujer.

De nuevo silencio y el desespero se apodera de mí, golpeo las paredes, embisto con mi cabeza la puerta, a duras penas nace un ruido seco, se acercan pasos, golpeo más duro con mi cráneo para demoler mi prisión, me desmayo.

No se cuantas horas han pasado, podrían ser días o solo minutos, pero la oscuridad se vuelve eterna, mis manos se vuelven luminosas, he hallado la respuesta, no saldré de aquí, aprieto mi cuello con ellas ¿Qué sentido tiene una historia sin luz?

El aire falta, pero no desisto, veo al fin la luminiscencia, luz brillante me ciñe, se sueltan los músculos y el cuerpo cae al suelo, pronto todo acabará.

Mozart se escucha cada vez mas tenue y los pasos se han detenido en frente de la puerta, de nuevo el silencio ilumina todo, este es mi ultimo suspiro, pude oír la puerta abriéndose antes de morir, pero era tarde, ese último segundo pude ver todo claramente.

Mi nombre no era Jhon, era Pablo, la mujer era mi hermana que sostenía a su hijo en brazos, el campo era mi oficio antes de volverme soldado insurgente por la libertad de mi nación, yo era un prisionero atrapado luchando por unos lideres que jamás conocieron el frio de una trinchera y Mozart fue la paz en medio de las batallas, convirtiendo balas en suaves teclas de piano a mi alrededor, ahora todo era luz, pues yo mismo tomé mi vida para no entregarla al enemigo, que venia por mi para interrogarme sobre la posición de los soldados que esa mañana habían ganado la guerra.

La libertad llegó para todos incluso en el ultimo destello para Pablo el soldado que logró ver al fin la luz absoluta.


Sources
Translation: Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
IA images: https://wepik.com/es/inteligencia-artificial

Sort:  

Literatos-estatico.jpg

Esta publicación ha recibido el voto de Literatos, la comunidad de literatura en español en Hive y ha sido compartido en el blog de nuestra cuenta.

¿Quieres contribuir a engrandecer este proyecto? ¡Haz clic aquí y entérate cómo!

This is a really spectacular piece of writing, @rdsmas. You clearly have a love of language and wonderful storytelling skills. This story is poignant and heartbreaking, as the soldier makes the ultimate sacrifice.

One important note: You tagged this as #creativenonfiction and #nonfiction, but it should be #fiction. Fiction stories are made up from your imagination. Creative nonfiction stories are true stories that come from your own life experience.

Thank you for the note about the mistake in posting. Please be sure to post directly to The Ink Well next time. Thank you!

Thanks for understanding, and for the suggestions that I will take into consideration, I had more than 7 months off the platform but these comments are the ones that give ink back to the pen and strength to the fingers to keep typing. Thank you very much.

Hmm!! At such situation, I don't even know what to call liberty. Even though, it hurts to know that the person has to take his/her life at the end. Life can be so tough sometimes.

Thanks so much for sharing this with us

Thanks a lot, this IS very important for me.

You are welcome 🤗

Paul was able to see the absolute light when he was at liberty. Have a happy morning.

Thanks for read me, this IS the best prize