You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Creative Process: Overcoming effortlessness, in the search for intuitive action

in #creativeprocess5 years ago

You are spot on here. It is a difficult marriage between the practice/repetition required to gain mastery over a skill, and the spontaneity required to create something that goes beyond rote practice. This is part of why I regularly switch what tuning I keep my main playing guitars in, every few months moving to a different tuning. I am still getting the finger practice in but it is a fresh game for my mind to play each time. Love the metaphor of the Christmas tree, and also that is a good reminder that a dead tree is actually a boon to nature just as much as a live tree (and sometimes more so - dead trees and snags are vital habitat!). I really enjoyed this :) Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Sort:  

Thanks, i love your comments on your guitar playing, i also use alternate tunings on my bass for similar reasons, right now i have it tuned in 5ths, i am discovering some very interesting relationships. I would love to hear some of your music.

Here is one on another of my alt accounts @cyclops - playing in DADEAD tuning (Dsus2)
https://steemit.com/music/@cyclops/one-must-be-brave-original-music-steem-collaboration