Sort:  

It was just the times...Small rural town in the early eighties...Australia wasn't as multicultural as it is now.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess it becomes normal when you're used to it being multicultural. I was the palest in my family, so I guess I'm used to seeing better tanned people than me. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I was brought up in a very multicultural environment at home...School was different. The vilification started dearly and continued for years. Still, it's all good...Helped build character and to understand human nature earlier in life. These days...I'm just a delectable mocha colour...🤪

Posted using Partiko Android

It says something for your character that you see it that way and aren't bitter about it. I led a sheltered childhood in that I didn't even realise such a thing as racism existed. Even when we were told about it, I thought it was in the past and no longer happened. 🤣 I got a bit of a culture shock when I hit the real world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I can't say I never reacted poorly to racism because I did. Mostly it just became another layer of character but it hurt a lot. Even now when it happens it still hurts a bit, but the character that started building when I started kindergarten kicks in.

I know what you mean about not understanding racism. I had no idea I was different until I got called a nigger for the first time. I was almost 5 years old and didn't know what it meant. I learned quickly though. Amazing what kids pick up from parents...That kid probably had no idea what he had said

Posted using Partiko Android