Quick thought on habits and creativity

in #creativity6 years ago

I'm the type of person that has a constant stream of ideas about various projects I could pursue. My passion waxes and wanes from day to day about all sorts of things, and as my focus changes the pitfall is for nothing to get done. In the past it was easy to regulate, as my life always revolved around whatever band I was in at the time. Unfortunately, I have been without a permanent ensemble gig for a little while, so this has not been the case. It's been up to me to allot my time.

What I've found helpful is to have one central project or pursuit that doesn't change. In my case it's my folk music, which I make under the name Little Ghost (available on Spotify, Apple Music, itunes, bandcamp.com :)). I have lots of other ideas for additional things to spend my time on, and it can make me anxious and unsettled. I don't want the ideas to stop - who knows what may work out? - but I also don't want to change my mind so much that I accomplish nothing.

If you have that same kind of mercurial creativity, then I advice you do the same as I have - have one project that you've decided will always be on the agenda. Whatever the next thing is for it (in my case its shooting my first Little Ghost video next week), make sure that it gets done. Other projects can be picked up and dropped and experimented with, but have your rock. Have your central thing that you work on, and whose next step takes an immutable spot on your agenda. Whatever else changes, that next thing WILL be checked off the list.

Happy creating!