You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reminder - Applications for Cohort 2 of the Sndbox Incubator [July 15th Deadline]

Just a quick comment based on my experience. These companies (Data Incubator, Insight) are not looking to teach you much. They want people that already have the skill-set to create a project. 7 weeks is barely enough time to produce a minimum viable product that is actually impressive - including visualization etc. Remember - they make money from marketing you after the program, and they can't make you into a machine learning expert in that amount of time. I imagine that Ph.D's that did a large amount of machine learning in python in school are the primary targets for them. I would recommend an educational program like Metis if you need to polish up your skill-set. I went there this winter and it was a very positive experience for me. About me: Ph.D. in Computational Neuroscience in December. About to start a data science job in industry.