IT WAS 2AM IN THE MORNING AND I GOT ROBBED!

in #crime6 years ago


So I have heard of stories of robberies and the whole drama that comes with it. Never had I thought that one day I would be telling my own story. As a young working adult living in Lagos Nigeria, It is almost impossible to tell your story of survival without telling a story of been swindled or robbed.

My story begins like this....

9PM - PICKING UP THE BAE

  • I had closed from work at 8pm and decided to wait for traffic jam to reduce. My lady calls me and tells me she's watching a late night movie at the cinema and I should come pick her up.
    I was excited, the thought of going to bed, getting some TLC, snuggling up and all. I deserved this especially after a long day at work.

10.30PM - DRIVING WITH BAE HOME

  • I had picked up my lady and we were on our way home. I was tired, she was tired. I was hungry, she was hungry. All we needed was to get home. At the junction close to the house, a truck had blocked the road and it took almost an hour for it to be towed away. It was a sign! We could have turned back!

11.30PM - WE FINALLY GOT HOME

  • After the long drive, we finally got home, something didn't feel right. It was dark and it was quiet. We got to the front door and I noticed something unusual, the lock was bad. I thought to myself - "someone must have damaged it".
  • It was late and there was nothing I could do about it. So I went up into my apartment saying to myself -"I would fix it tomorrow".
  • I locked my door, had something to eat and retired to bed. It was 12.30am already.

2AM - THEY ARRIVED!

  • I was fast asleep when my lady jumped out of bed and whispered to me - "They are here!". I jumped out of bed! I heard a loud bang on the door downstairs, footsteps were running up the stairs, it sounded like five men. No! it sounded like they were more!
  • Hide! That was the only thought in my head, I definitely couldn't defend myself against so many men, not with my lady here by me! Bang! They had broken into the sitting room and were heading into my bedroom.
  • My lady grabbed her phone and we ran straight into the bathroom. Bang! They had gotten into the room and were dragging the bathroom door with us. We held unto the door for our lives.
  • At this point all I could think of was the famous scene from Game of thrones, Hodor!!!
  • They kept banging on the door while we held on, the handle of the door was getting weaker, it would break anytime soon. I told my lady to make emergency calls, nobody picked! There was only one thing left to do, pray!
  • The banging on the door suddenly ceased! One of them shouted in pidgin English - "Him don call Police!". They started running downstairs.
  • 20 minutes passed and I was still holding unto the door. I didn't believe they had gone. I thought it was ploy by them to get me out of the bathroom.
  • I heard peolpe come out of their houses, then sirens. I was safe. I came out, my house was a mess, they had taken almost everything valuable but who cares! I was safe, I was alive! Time to move out!!!
Sort:  

Damn! Sorry to hear that, mate. Glad you both were unhurt. Really sorry. Nine days for the thief, they say :)

I'm thankful to be unhurt bro. It was quite an experience. Good to be back. Thanks man!

Congratulations @jaypaulmrflamez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jaypaulmrflamez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!