Crochet Reference meterial

in #crochet8 years ago (edited)

Hello Stemians

I have had a busy few days trying to get this post together. I've lost count of the times I got fed up and wanted to give up, but I'm not one to just give up, so here we are.

Yay!

This post is all about Crochet stitches it is aimed at novices who have rarely if ever picked up a crochet hook and will be useful as a reference with my future crochet tutorial posts.

Lets get down to business

The equipment
You don't need a lot of equipment to crochet, in fact, you can start with just four items:

  • Yarn
  • The appropriate sized crochet hook for your yarn
    (hook size is usually printed on the handle)
  • A pair of scissors
  • A yarn needle
    I know now your asking but how do I know if I've got the right sized hook for my yarn.
    Well it's fairly simple it should give you a recommended knitting needle size (usually in mm)for crochet you go up one full size.
Example

This label recommends using 8mm knitting needles so I will use a 9mm crochet hook


This link may also be useful when trying to get the right hook

But remember crochet is an art form and therefore is open to experimentation and self-expression.
So shake it up try different hooks and see what happens.
Now for the how
In crochet there are seven basic stitches and all other crochet stitches are variations or combinations of theses stitches.
Here is a table of The Basic Crochet Stitches that I made for use when teaching.


I have also made an instructional video just for all you lovely Steemians


In the above video, I have shown you how to start using a chain which is how you start if your working straight but in my experience, most crochet is done in the round, So I have found this fabulous tutorial by B.hooked crochet

You can use either of these techniques to start working in the round. I personally prefer the magic circle as I think it gives a nicer finish especially on things like hats etc.
But if you find the magic circle too tricky but want your work to close up in the centre you can always stitch it closed when weaving in your ends (it's not as neat but it does the job)
One last bit of useful onformation
Here is a video I did on the different parts of the crochet stitch:

I hope this post has been useful and I would appreciate any feed back

Sort:  

So good to see you back @stichin-sista!
I'd sent you an email a while ago about your website. I may have to resend. I need your feedback before we go further!
Great tutorials too. I love the magic circle. It was a revelation to me when I began learning the pineapple stitch for beautiful shawls. :)

Sorry I didn't get your email.
I love the magic circle too I wanted to sing from the hills when I discovered it.

Great tutorial stitchin-sista it was well worth the effort. Looking forward to seeing more.

Congratulations @stichin-sista! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!