The Crow

in #crow2 years ago

I meant to post this last night, but wound up falling asleep on the couch before I made it back into the studio. I have a rather long day at the tattoo shop ahead of me today, which means I'll like have the time for a proper post this evening. But I figured I'd post a few illustrations I've done of The Crow in the last year or so.

For most of this year, I was doing livestreams twice a week on my Instagram, penciling or inking for about an hour while chatting with people that tuned in about techniques or just random thoughts on art and comics and pop culture and stuff. It was one of my favorite parts of the week. So this piece was done over the course of a few weeks, as I did the penciling and inking live, an hour at a time. This piece was was sort of a hybrid, design-wise, between the original comic version of The Crow by James O'Barr, and the film adaptation.

The Crow Pencils Small.jpg

And here is the final, scanned and cleaned up inked version.
The Crow.jpg

And the third image for this morning was an homage directly to the film I did the night of my 35th birthday in August of this year. It's ink, acrylic, and airbrush on 11x17in bristol.

Crow.jpg

Anyway, hope y'all have a stellar day.

XOXO
-Adam

Sort:  

Damn, awesome work! Getting those shadows, textures and folds in his jacket to look that good with hatching takes skills

I'm not sure if I have actually seen the movie. I do remember the sad death of Brandon Lee when making it. Extra sad that someone else died on a film set recently.

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/8) tipped @swarddraws (x1)

Join us in Discord!