How i lost my first bitcoin to a Hacker or phisher

in #crypocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Is J.P.Morgan Resulting to hacking to get his btc???? as he was caught buying it before????????

joking ofc

on a more serious note
ok so,
it started with me trading tenx last night and just about to sell and bittrex started lagging which it never does for me, next thing I know I cant buy or sell as both say 0.0000 I goto my wallet and see a pending withdrawal, so I click cancle and it comes with a error saying action not available at this time, too late,,,,

Where I went wrong is that my email had the same password as my bittrex and same email log in, so even though I had email verification on, they verified it themselves, my friend later reminded me that I had said what the hell is bitirex I'm not clicking that,,,,,, this is what was displaying in google chrome when I typed (bit) into the address bar, which is how I usually goto my previously used websites, I clicked cancel, run ccleaner and anti Malwarebytes and thought that was the end of it as when I typed (bit) into chrome it no longer came up with the dodgy address, but my guess is that it was too late and I had already previously gone to (bitirex)<dodgy website previously without knowing,,,,, now how they managed to get the first result in my history to be this dodgy website is beyond me, so with all combined this is how I lost my btc, first of all they must have put something on my pc to make bit(i)rex.com, come up in my address bar of chrome, then when I typed in address and password, they must have logged in bittrex and my email and withdrawn it all within 1 min,,,,, lesson we need to teach people is number 1,,, use different passwords for each service,,,,, 2,,,,, watch what website address u are going to as the website I went to was an exact copy of the original and I did not notice at any point any problems,,, and last but not least,,,, 2fa google authentication on your mobile phone,,,,NOT A GOOGLE EXTENTION AUTH,,, which I had,,,

sooo I searched my settings on official bittrex and found all previous actions and there ip addresses there was 1 which I couldn't link to me..
I then googled ip tracking,, and it took me to a service provider for cloud computing in other words a remote computer hire website, so I called them up and they have raised the concern for this ip and I have also given them the action fraud crime number, heard nothing of course same with bittrex, no reply, the 3k that we lost was 1k mine 1k mums 1k best friend,,,,,,, my mum has recently paid for my sister to have ivf treatment as she cannot have a baby naturally, the nhs used to provide this service for free, it is now £7000 for first attempt, when I called her at 3am this morning to tell her what had happened she was shocked, @(this angered me the most) I still havn't gone to bed and am still running it over in my head what to do but there really is nothing I can do,, its sickening, that's the only way I can explain It,,,,, if there was such an exchange that offered protection insurance for an extra fee,,,, id be there now,,, and allowed only 1 user logged in at a time....
this kind of thing could be avoided ......

as well as having 2fa as standard with no option to disable,,,

as the average joe who is coming into bitcoin,,,, like me,,, 1 month in doesn't know this sort of thing, I have never been hacked before and didn't think it was possible with modern computers and routers but somehow they made that website address come to the top of my history so when I typed in BIT for bittrex I got bit(i)rex or something along them lines as my first result on google chrome,, now the only other way, is if that bitconnect is exactly this and how they get there profits to hand out percentages I have gone from end to end of my accounts and histories and can find no other explanation,,,,,when i open emails from bitconnect of click login on there website, i now get a message from avast antivirus saying website is dangerous and was automatically closed,,, (avast installed after btc stolen)

I have learned a huge lesson from this and I will have different passwords for everything I use and check every single web address I put details into,,, AND ALWAYS USE 2FA GOOGLE AUTH VIA MOBILE,,,, nobody tells you this stuff as a newbie and I really do think it will be beneficial to a lot of people if you i my story, or even mention how easy it is for it to happen and the worry only comes when its gone, then its too late,

on bittrex you can white-list your own ip address and wallet address so even if they do get in and withdraw your crypto it will just goto your own wallet....

oh and don't use auto insert password and username,,, nothing is safe as I cannot guarantee exactly what way they got in

here you can see all his transactions, it wasn't just me, someone else lost 9.33btc

https://btc.com/a5ce21a4157dc92a4cda3ddc846b9d3d1acd5ae160a40cac81c30dd8fa0c51ef

here is the bastards wallet address and the transaction id that they took my funds on

Address: 18MoJtzetKQzmxzuN8VMxWgYdYYbTwytwd
TxId: a5ce21a4157dc92a4cda3ddc846b9d3d1acd5ae160a40cac81c30dd8fa0c51ef

https://btc.com/18MoJtzetKQzmxzuN8VMxWgYdYYbTwytwd

here is my loss 0.96 btc, may seem petty but its a lot to us and we bought in when bitcoin was high as we didn't know any better and I started trading to get it up to that point we did have 0.82, I made a very good trade on tenx last night to get it to that level we was all so happy and then this

hopefully something here is useful and please ignore my bad grammar and punctuality I am a tradesman I don't need to know this stuff lol

I hope you have taken note of all i have said here and make some changes to your security, and got 2fa enabled on everything

thankfully they didnt get in my steem account

my btc wallet 14DQ39tYhPc33WaBfh2PHhuaM77xd2HgWt <<<Very Safe now

please upvote

thanks peeps

Sort:  

Summed up in points for others:

  • Dont use same logins! Ever! Use random 12+ char. logins stored inside password manager.

  • Never 2FA with SMS message. Use GAuth app. ANd ofc use 2FA on everz site that alows it.

  • "auto insert password and username" - if you mean login saved inside Chrome - NEVER!!!!! Never store password inside the browser! Use password manager.

  • Whitelist IP if possible

  • oh....and the most important. Dont store larger amounts of money on exchange. Ever. Use hardware wallet.

cheers mate

I feel bad for you. Stay strong.

Learn from your mistakes and never give up. This was a very expensive lesson but that's the amount we have to pay sometimes to really understand something.

I also recommend to turn on the IP adres confirmation on Bittrex and turn off withdraws except for 1 paper wallet.

It might be allot of money now, but in the future it might save you a bigger investment. Wish you well and good luck in the future.

Thank you ever so much elliotmeijer appreciate that mate

im so sorry , it really pisses you off when you hear some thing like this , and i know where your at , im a noob as they say and it can be very confusing all this computer stuff , and theres quite a bit of anxiety , i worry some days that i will just end up locking myself out of my accounts or wallet , i have spent hours into the wee small hours , trying to learn all this stuff , on top of that ive had allot of strange emails , one i even clicked the link on , thanking me for a purchase on amazon for £200 , i hope my virus soft ware caught it as the link didnt open , and when i went to amazon i hadnt bought any thing , you really have to be on your toes

sounds like your taking the right steps and looking out in the correct places, i hope to god im fairly safe now with my changes, just have to take these few simple steps and watch that address bar u should be good mate

I will not only upvote and resteem this post. I'll share this story to my friends especially those who are non-IT savvy but very keen to invest in cryptocurrencies.. Be strong and take care. May God give you back what you had lost. Thanks for sharing this!

Bless your heart mate, thank you so much, i hope so to

Someone else has sent me roughly another $10 via my btc wallet, you guys are incredible, with the up-votes and the donations i have a bit to play with now, you guys are awesome, Much love from all of us, XXXXX that includes you @crypto-daily

Actually I sent you about 17 Dollars but this is not so important. I just wanted you to know that I was very sorry to hear of your case from @cryptodaily. I sent many tweets to rich crypto investors asking them to send you a little bit of their fortune. Unfortunately none of them sent something in your wallet (I check it every day). If you are lucky you might receive some Dash from @maxkeiser. I tweeted him again (an hour ago) because he is randomly sending random amounts of DASH. I proposed him to contact you to ask you for your DASH wallet address! Hey, I have another idea for you: Did you ever consider to participate in airdrops of new currencies? It is really often quite profitable to participate in such airdrops. E.g., the (already yesterday closed) airdrop of eBTC was more than 150 USD per person worth if they sold the received tokens immediately. Now the eBTC tokens are even more worth. Here are some twitter sites for being informed on airdrops: @CryptoAirdrops@airdropadvisor@AirdropAlert -- and I am sure that there many other such sites.‏ Currently you could participate in this airdrop: All you have to do is to go to this website: http://powtoken.com/ and to log in your Facebook account from their website. They earlier you log in the more you will receive from then. I really wish you all the best and a lot of luck to compensate for this bad experience. Bernhard

dude, that was lovely of you, seriously is there another way i could add you to pm you, id like to stay friends, people like you need to be appreciated, thank you so much mate, i cant believe i missed this message on so many occasions, thank you dude, please send me a way to stay in contact as steem isn't the best for messaging, god bless

also have just done the POW fee airdrop thank you

Someone has just sent me $25.00 worth of bitcoin, whoever that was,,, bless your heart, thank you xxxxx

well i think someone did anyway, maybe from somewhere else i dunno lol? thanks anyway

Poor bastard, but thank you for sharing your story, very informative.

no probs mate, not the best at punctuality but i think poeple get the idea

What a kick in the balls, so sorry to hear mate! Now you have to work extra hard to turn a smaller amount back into 1 BTC. Definitely possible, and the riskier the moves, the faster you will get there. Best of luck mate!

thank you buddy, ill get there

I'd tell you about my OPSEC but that's a bad idea. Hard lesson learned buddy

indeed mate

I'm sorry for your lost. Thank you for sharing as this will help the community. Upvoted.

thanks buddy, appreciated

Sad to hear about your loss, had a similar thing with myetherwallet , there was similar site with same look and feel coming up top in google search. After some time the site was gone

keep an eye on that address bar m8, cheers

learn how to use linux, bruh, it is much safer than windows. u can make a virtual machine with linux just for one purpose of trading on bittrex you can install just chrome and maybe bitcoin wallet and nothing more in order to avoid malware. best of luck

thanks dude, i think im pretty ok now, i just wish i done it beforehand, thank you