You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WOW - Starbucks To Be Adding Crypto Payments / Coincheck Exchange Recompense / Tether: BREAKING NEWS

in #crypto-news6 years ago

Bitcoin cash would be a retail nightmare. Branding to similar to Bitcoin. Would be loads of people sending bitcoin to bitcoin cash address and wondering why they are not getting their coffee

Sort:  

The addresses are different formats. It's easy for the cashier to see on a screen that the transaction was sent to the correct address and QR codes could be used to make it even easier for everyone involved.

Yes.. For me and you checking address is normal. But to have two logos that are so similar in thousands retailers is going to make thousands of mistakes. I wouldn't want that problem if I was a retailer. Parent gets Bitcoin from child for christmas, parent goes into Starbucks I have some of those bitcoin things, person working in Starbucks is rushing like they do and doesn't check the parents phone, sent the bitcoin to a bitcoin cash address, money is gone... Easier to just use litecoin and not deal with that Hugh problem. Must people don't know their is 20 types of Bitcoin

  • That doesn't happen with the new addresses unless you yourself opt for a bad wallet (and QR codes avoids having to type it in).
  • Litecoin can also be sent to the wrong address in the same manner.
  • Now even the logos have been updated to further the distinction.

There really is only one type of "Bitcoin" now. The legacy chain often known as Bitcoin in the past is no longer operating as anything but a settlement layer for the developing Lightning Network, which may of course turn out fine.

Bitcoin Cash however is Bitcoin per the design paper and may get any number of updates or optional layers in the future.

Oh... Sorry, I don't do Blockchain politics. All that, there only one true Blockchain stuff. I just use whatever best at getting a job done, like now I'm using Steemit Blockchain.
I promise you in 10 years we will still have bitcoin and bitcoin cash, so arguing which is the true one, is a waste of time. My opinion is Satoshi invented Blockchain to disrupted finance, because of problems caused 2008 and his done it. Not with bitcoin but with the whole crypto currency space. He started it all with open source technology. This is just the start, but I think his done what he wanted to achieve. My friend enjoy the whole crypto space... Don't feel like you have to be loyal to one.

There are no hard feelings, just correcting the information so that it's accurate.

Nobody said there was or had to be only one blockchain. Forks and alts are great to have. I'm enjoying myself and the technology, as I hope you do too.