You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leaders as Proxies; Sentiment as "Extended Will" of The Community, And Why I'll Never Be A Dictator

in #crypto-news5 years ago

How do you think the development is going with this project? Do you think it will be long before Tau offers value in terms of a product?

Sort:  

I've blogged also about progress on that front. Development of TML is active and there is monthly progress. Currently TML.CPP is around 80% complete. By that I mean it integrated binary decision diagram and partial fixed point logic. It can run logic programs but it is missing negation.

I think once TML is complete then we can begin actually developing Tauchain using the Tau Meta Language to do it. We will be able to use machine intelligence to help us develop Tauchain in ways which no other project is doing. The machine intelligence could be considered "intelligence amplification" to assist with deveopment of Tauchain by scaling discussion, and by automated reasoning, etc.

For law, for morality and ethics, we benefit greatly from decidability. Partial fixed point logic in theory is supposed to support this critical function. I will know only when it's being used if it's meeting my expectations but right now it's looking good.

For me Tau will offer value when I can leverage TML or Tauchain itself to put my ideas into code. This I think will happen sometime later this year. I think right now the debugging and optimization phase is the main focus and this will be the focus probably for 3 more months.

From there I think we will have something to work with. Product I estimate to arrive in 1-3 months time but valuable product will not be here until later. I don't predict how long it will take but I do think once you have a functioning TML people will be surprised how quickly things snowball forward. People right now I think underestimate the benefit of machine intelligence because it's something very few developers ever used but then if it does work everyone can contribute to development which is why I think it will snowball forward.

Wow very exciting stuff. So you are saying after TML.CPP is completed things will snowball forward? thanks for the information and estimated time frame looking forward to the developments.

I expect things to snowball forward because once it becomes easier for more people to get involved in developing Tauchain then we will have much more rapid rates of progress. Additionally, if you can scale "conversation" then you can scale development. What is collaborative development? A group conversation of a formal sort.

Code is speech just like these sentences are speech. More speakers = more code. Knowledge also compounds upon itself.