steem->poloniex->coinbase->paypal

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)


This is the problem with crypto, in general, distilled into a concentrated essence that encompasses the core reason very few people actually give a damn about crypto other than to speculate on the value of a coin.

For the longest time, I did not have any method of withdrawal from steem to convert into spendable money for something I needed. Eventually, I went through the tedious process of creating a path from steem into paypal, and it looked like this: steem->poloniex->coinbase->paypal

It worked! Huzzah! Take that scumbags telling me this is just monopoly money, now I have the proof.

But wait, there's more? Poloniex got shanked by steem devs and doesn't care enough to fix it, so the value of steem/sbd crashed forever, and the first step of my path is broken ....

No worries though, I rather sell litecoin anyway. What's this? Coinbase is skrewing around with the litecoin addresses as part of some upgrade, so now most transfers don't actually work. Cool upgrade.

Fine, I'll sell the LTC into ETH and transfer that to coinbase.

Paypal transfers are temporarily unavailable...

WTF!

Fine, I'll just wait it out I guess and bills can just pay themselves...

[wait 1 week]

Paypal transfers are "temporarily" unavailable...

WTF!

What is temporary exactly?
I look around to find they disable it intentionally because it was
'not optimal'
They say it will be enabled again 'later this year'

[wait 1 month]

Now the option for paypal is deleted entirely...

So every step of my path from steem to spendable money is broken.
Imagine someone that isn't big on computers trying to deal with this garbage.

Fine then, I'll see what other option they have.
"link your bank account"
...
[insert 1000 stories of banks closing accounts for linking to coinbase]
[insert 1000 stories of coinbase stealing money from bank accounts]


People think crypto will be huge, but this tells a different story.

poloniex/coinbase - get your shit together

Sort:  

I use bittrex and payeer i think these web sites are good and can handle that take a look for more info

So many uncertainities ....God get this person some help 😂....
I agree it sucks..

Great post and good work keep it up

You got a 12.13% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @alphacore!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

This post has received a 4.80 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @alphacore.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment