Blockchain Nightmares: Be careful with your addresses!

in #crypto7 years ago

CryptoCoinsNews just shared the story on one guy who made a very common mistake: not being extra careful when you're sending transactions. Man, that was my very first thought when I started playing with this stuff... what if I send to the wrong address?

Yes, you are fucked. There's no other way to put it, you're fucking fucked.

A friend of mine just yesterday told me he lost 0.1ETH by not reading the fine print. Yep, I've done that too. I sent some ETH, but small fractions, didn't read the fine print, and now I don't know if I'm ever retrieving that 0.061 ETH I sent to my liqui.io wallet. Probably it'll show up if I send another 0.039 ETH.. .but liqui.io was clear: can't send less than 0.1ETH. I almost gave Genesis Mining my Coinbase address until I re-read my address lookup and saw that tiny line in grey that talks about not sending your mining rewards to this address. Same with not sending ETH from Coinbase to but from an ICO. This is all fine print stuff. Make sure you read it.

You should be healthily frightened by this market and the use of it. It's a healthy fear, it will teach you lots. Without this fear, I wouldn't have found about blockchain explorers - those great website where you can see your transaction on the blockchain, instead of get on your knees praying that it will arrive to its destination.

I lost ETH by sending it to a lTC address. I lost ETH by clicking confirm and sending it to the wrong wallet. Not really lost because I managed to retrieve my precious wallet with its measly 0.2ETH, eventually. But this is all to say:

  • read the fucking fine print.
  • double check every single transaction address
  • triple check it when you're about to press "confirm"

I was giving my boyfriend tutorial on how to send money from COinbase to his Bittrex wallets, and he just went ahead and hit confirm without even reading!@# My heart sank, this is exactly how you lose money!@#$

Don't do that. Ever. He learned, he doesn't wanna hear me nag and say "I told you so" ad nauseum, so I'm sure he's learned. Right?

xoxoxo


Use my Genesis Mining code to get more hashing power: 61Qx0o


Follow me on Facebook!
Follow me on Twitter!

Sort:  

Good advice, thanks for sharing that info about coinbase I wasn't aware of that. Resteeming this.

Yeah for sure! I remember being so scared when I first started, and I'd forgotten how easy it is to make mistakes... ;-0