My verdict of Cryptohopper

in #crypto6 years ago

Last year, I heard about crypto trading bots or automated cryptotrading and found a few providers online. Cryptohopper made a very good impression, their video made it seem very easy, almost too good to be true. There are loads of video tutorials and a free month to start with. So as always, I wanted to make my own experience and found some free time 2 months ago.

They offer 3 types of subscriptions, you can see the details here:

  • Bunny @ USD 19 per month
  • Hare @ 49 per month
  • Kangaroo @ 99 per month

Obviously the bigger the plan the more options you have. The difference is the number of trades, the number of coins selected for trading and the number of triggers. In my case, I’m not a professional trader and required an additional package for trade signals, which comes at a fee around USD 5 - 6 per month.

I took the bunny subscription, subscribed to Mininghamster signals and joined the telegram channel. I invested a small amount through Bittrex and observed the progress for a few weeks. I enjoyed the time, but lost about 15% because we’re not in a bull market and I wasn’t active enough.

  • The platform is very professional, it has all the options you can think of and although automation is the main objective, everything can be configured.
  • This article does not go in detail about the options, but this one does:
  • It was very easy to link Cryptohopper to the exchange through API keys and I have no safety concerns, because the API keys don’t allow withdrawals
  • I first wasn’t sure if the platform would work if I wouldn’t be online, but this is obviously the advantage of their “Realtime 24/7 cloud trading bot”.
  • You can setup e-mail alerts at for login, trades and triggers, the account is protected with 2FA
  • It was also easy to start trading, it really is as simple as in the video tutorials
  • Signals don’t work well in bear markets, therefore, another strategy is required as described over here:

My verdict is that the service is in fact easy to use, also for beginners, but it’s too costly to “play around” and leave running in the background. In order to make the maximum return, you need to be active on a daily basis and also make profit in bear markets. The fees for the smallest package are USD 19 + USD 6 per month, add up to USD 300 per year, just for the monthly subscription fees. I think it starts to make sense from an investment amount of at Least USD 1’000 + a minimum of 1 hour attention per day to finetune the strategy.

For me, I’m cancelling the subscription, because I don’t want to observe the market this closely.
If you are interested to see for yourself, please visit Cryptohopper here

Good luck!