Introduction

in #crypto6 years ago

Hallo Steemers!

The name is Dixon. From Mombasa,Kenya.
Looking to share and learn alot on cryptocurrencies and the world of decentralization. Am also looking to gain knowledge on how to earn money online. And will also answer all I can about Kenya and Mombasa. Its a fun get away I invite you all to Mombasa!

Sort:  

Welcome Dixon :)
Hello from a fellow Learner !

Thanks shkartik.

Congratulations @jackdickens382! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome! :)

I waited for time to pass so that you don't get many people checking this post, as I want to ask you a question...

First of all, I grew up in Tanzania and came to Mombasa a number of times, so I am not a stranger to East Africa

There have been some posts, here and elsewhere, about Mombasa becoming the center for child sex prostitution - plus the more usual kind.

Is anything being done to stop it?

Well there is effort being made by coastal women to sensitize the people in Mombasa and Malindi on the dangers. This is especially to girls in primary and secondary. There is also effort by local women groups to inform the Kenyan government of the effects this far so that there may be strict legislation and further action. I see this is a topic at heart. Would you wish to bring a solution? What are your thoughts and ideas? Maybe I can help you?

Legislation can only have an effect on what is happening, plus it will increase the price, which means more foreign exchange, so the government might not be as strict as they say they are.

If people are not taught that it is wrong and that it destroys the body of the child so that she is less likely to have a child, and if poverty is not eradicated, you cannot win the battle.

Look at Zimbabwe. The new government has invited the whites who used to live there to return. Already, just from that, the people are more positive, seeing an end to their suffering as new crops are harvested. They are solving their problems themselves.

Tanzania and Kenya only pay lip service to such ideas, but when foreigners come to create industry, they instinctively revert to finding ways to block them...especially if they do not bribe the right people. I'm speaking from personal experience, for I refused to pay bribes.

In Tanzania I was awarded some farming land (which used to belong to my family) and the newspaper had it on their front page, with my photo. I then received a phone call from the minister of agriculture. He told me he did not approve what parliament did and is putting the land up for auction.

I offered $1 million, with extra capital and machinery being imported at my cost. The nephew of the minister offered one million shillings. Guess who won the auction.

At that time, I had arranged for a road to be build from inland to Dar, so that food can be transported to where the bulk of their population is. I had arranged to pay the roadmakers by arranging factories to be built with products for export (such projects had the right to keep 40% of their export earnings outside the country) so that the roadbuilders can be paid from there (with the roadbuilders taking over, in the end, those factories). I was proud of myself, for I had managed something I was told is impossible. As you can guess, I immediately withdrew my support and the road was not built and neither were the factories.

Until the mindset of those in power changes, all you can do is help or save a child here and there. The problem is temporary, since, thanks to the WHO and Bill Gates, most of the Kenya babies to end of child bearing age, have been vaccinated with chemicals for sterilising them. Don't believe me? Do a google for Bill Gates saying so on TV. Maybe, once births drop dramatically, each child will become precious once more....

Oh yes you are so right Arthur. Poverty is the underlying issue; give the girl child education by sponsorships n scholarships and also give money aid to families this will gradually disappear. Aside from child sex trade is also early child pregnancy. In the areas of Kilifi it is rife.
I believe education can liberate the girl n boy child and as you say economic opportunities be open to the small man.

It was good you took initiative in Tanzania though it was still your land. Well Tanzanians are a bit too protective of their resources. It is evident with Magufuli burning chickens from Kenya..hahaha and also them taking long to accept new East African Community protocols.

Corruption is truly a bother esp for well meaning foreigners like you who want to invest. Though I can tell you there is still hope. You can get some well meaning Kenyans (Africans) who see beyond the stomach....hehe..It is also murky here in Kenya but one get a legitimate channel and opportunity. Look at how foreign companies are setting up hubs in Nairobi recently Opera.

When can save a life here and there where we can. Make the world a safer place. Ready also to hear your further ideas on the wide topics..

Welcome from a fellow Kenyan. Join our Kenyan community at https://discord.gg/CgDjGy

Hi. Sorry the link expired. Kindly send me another invite link.