What is Basic Attention Token (BAT)? A Look at a Promising Crypto Setting Out to Change the Ad Game.

in #crypto7 years ago

BATBRAVE logo.png

Blockchain-based Advertising.


Basic Attention Token (BAT) is co-founded by Brendan Each, the creator of Mozilla and Javascript.

BAT is an Ethereum blockchain-based token that can be exchanged between content creators, advertisers, and users on the Brave platform. The Brave browser (which has already been released) is a unique new browser that blocks malware, unwanted advertisements, and trackers, while anonymously capturing information about user attention in order to reward publishers and advertisers for "capturing" said attention.

In short, it's a new way to do digital advertising, and it seeks to revolution and streamline the experiences of users, publishers, and advertisers via blockchain tech.

Screen Shot 2017-10-05 at 2.13.43.png
source.

What problems do BAT/Brave Browser seek to solve?


Lots.

  • Thanks to bots and bogus websites, marketers are often fooled and cannot get accurate feedback/data.
  • Behemoths like Facebook and Google are taking the majority of all ad dollars and growth from publishers.
  • Trackers and ads are decreasing phone battery life, compromising privacy, and using up mobile data.

BAT triangle.png
source.

So, what is the brilliance of Brave/BAT?


It's pretty smart, if you ask me. And pretty simple:

  • USERS get BATs for their attention. (Attention is privately monitored on-device in the Brave browser, and the user's private data does not leave the device)

  • PUBLISHERS can accrue BATs based on user attention.

  • ADVERTISERS get better feedback, less fraud, and a better ROI.

Can you feel the synergy yet??


I'm pretty excited about this project. Watching it at coincap.io, it seems to be doing pretty well. Large market cap and moving up the charts. It is also still very affordable (currently scoop-able at about 25 cents)! Even nicer is the fact that it is supported on the convenient and easy to use Jaxx wallet. While nothing in this post is meant to be construed as investment advice, I will say I am excited about this coin, and would encourage you to check it out as well. Peace!

To learn more about Basic Attention Tokens, please check out the official website.


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I've been watching this project with great enthusiasm, but I've been somewhat hesitant to invest due to the fact that surfers/users have to pay out of pocket (donate) to sites they visit, which I doubt anyone would want to do in this day and age.

Mercury will be released this Friday I think so this will be huge for BAT and Brave. This will be the first time the two are intergrated and too my knowledge you will be able to start earning BAT by turning the ad blocker off. Stay tuned for my article in a few hours.

I tried the regular Brave browser and it works well, maybe I'll give this a try too.

Hi, I think this is a great idea; with great potential.
I think that if there's a balance for everyone to have beneficial benefits the growth will be easy. Thank you for sharing, best wishes :) - @splendorhub

So will it be exclusively to the Brave browser? It sounds like an interesting project, but gonna have to see first how far this thing will go.

Good question.

ohhh welcome BAT 😍 a new tocken thanks for introducing kafka 😍

I thought about how to incentivize users to watch ads for a long time... but eventually came to the conclusion that users don't want to watch ads, even if they make $ doing it. I can't even watch a TV show without my DVR nowadays. Commercial advertising is dying.

I think Steemit's model is better, but the problem here is all of the bots and early adopters skewing which content is seen.

Incentive models for user generated content is in it's infancy in my opinion. EOS, Smart Media Tokens... a lot of new models will be built using this tech.

I agree with a lot of what you said here. You may be right about the advertising. I'm not entirely convinced though.

I think Steemit's model is better, but the problem here is all of the bots and early adopters skewing which content is seen.

I don't necessarily think that early adopters are a "problem," though, as Steemit was, from the start, a stake-weighted voting platform. Trust me, though, I have suffered at the hands of those fish larger than I several times on here, so I do get it.

Incentive models for user generated content is in it's infancy in my opinion. EOS, Smart Media Tokens... a lot of new models will be built using this tech.

Agree. Thanks for commenting.

  • Brendan Eich: Javascript and Mozilla. (that was enough for me)
  • More and more people block ads(or annoyed by them)
  • Why wouldn't people want free money for browsing?
  • Google Inc. make mistakes frequently. Involving politics wasn't a good decision and many people will turn away and seek for an alternative. Especially how they do it... On the top of that, they seem to attack big YouTube channels who aren't left-leaning. Also, Google Adsense, in general, is way worse then it was a few years ago.

My only doubt was about the fact that people can abuse Brave's system and try to get insane amounts of BAT but no. They thought about that too and have a solution.

That is such a good idea ! I'll keep an eye on this project !

Great info!
Helps us to become more aware of our possibilities!
Thank you very much😊!
Enjoy @nature.art, my kind of Art!🌿

Great work on one of the most intriguing tokens out there.

Interesting. Can I just download it now and give it a try?

Sounds interesting, the problem is that it is getting so many different projects and every of them has separate crypto. Soon we will have thousand different browsers with own cryptos and will be lost at some point :)

you just rose my interest in reading more of your post ...this is great...keep doing more great content..you can check out mine as well..thanks @kafkanarchy84

nice post and information my friend, that BAT token looks promising and no doubt brave browser is also a great way to save time because in chrome all sorts of different ads running reduce the speed of browsing and hence we loss time so it's great if brave browser blocks many ads and give you a very smooth browsing experience on the Internet, i am on my way to download it and install it, i hope it brings good results to me, stay awesome my friend and thanks for sharing

Great article. Followed!

Wonderful post.. very nice kafkanarchy84. Keep it up

I agree, BAT has so much to offer to marketers.
Well said, @kafkanarchy84

Good information provided to the steemitians..very nicely you have mentioned about the pros and cons of Bat.. we must be aware of it...thanks for sharing .
I am resteeming it..

Carry on man...

Great information about BAT, thanks.

good post! thank you for sharing a good story, success always! take a moment to see my post, if possible !!!
https://steemit.com/tourist/@alfa-good/tourist-visit-to-aceh-starts-declining-ensured-to-join-sail-sabang
Thanks @kafkanarchy84
Upvote from @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kafkanarchy84 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I will have a look. Sounds good. Thank you for sharing.

this looks very very promising

Congratulations @kafkanarchy84! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!