You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto vs. Community

in #crypto4 years ago

Do you think this counts towards "second layer" crypto endeavors as well? I am getting more and more upset with aggroed and his empire of "decentralization." As far as I can tell the only thing decentralized about Hive-engine and splinterlands is that the jsons get sent via the hive blockchain. That's it. The Hive-Engine company controls everything else from the Dark Energy Crystals and the Splinterlands cards to the newly created NFT Showroom and the soon to come photography related nft sites. I am starting to think that these projects in the direction they are currently headed are not good for the blockchain if they continue being centrally tied to the hive-engine site and/or its tokens.

Am I just completely off base in thinking this?

Also, hello fellow Husband of a teaching canadian. The union is weird. Sometimes they do the right thing and other times they do the complete opposite of right thing to the point where you wonder which team they're truly batting for.

Sort:  

Understanding the centralization as "controlled by a company" or "controlled by a small group" is a good start. I am talking about one step further. The centralization as "controlled by the community" or "controlled by the majority" is still bad.

Some people think that democratic open procedures make the elected group somewhat decentralized. It is wrong. Think about it, with all the democratic institutions (elections, parties, openness, freedom of speech, and so on), we still have totally centralized central banks.

Getting back to crypto. If I mine bitcoins I get my miner reward even if no one else likes it. In fact, everyone is against me getting the tokens. This is what the decentralization is. This is how we push back the collectivism.

It is very different in some other blockchains. To get a reward I should be supported by others. I should not just reveal myself but also acting to please them. How is this different from electing a member of parliament? Not much. And it will end up with the same groups of interests that are manipulating the crowd and controlling everything.