Precious metals purchasing with Bitcoin

in #crypto7 years ago




Image source

While most people are aware that it is very easy to shop for gold, silver and platinum online, most might not know that Bitcoin is accepted by quite a few retailers.

The only ones I'm going to write about, are the ones I've personally used over the years.


Silvergoldbull.com / Silvergoldbull.ca
Used a few times here... fantastic site, lots of options of .999 metals to pick up.


Providentmetals.com
Since July 2014 they have been accepting Bitcoin, Dogecoin and Litecoin for all purchases.


Amagimetals.com
Directly from their Bitcoin write up.... "The US Dollar is a failing currency and has already lost over 95% of its purchasing power in the past 50 years. Finding a new way to transact is exactly what we need, so while you’re stacking precious metals, think about cryptocurrenices; they are revolutionizing money."


The latest update from Amagimetals came to me today via email.


I remember the first day I saw a site that would accept Bitcoin for precious metals. I was blown away. The ability to exchange a currency for precious metals (real money) means that the acceptance has begun for cryptos... and this was back in 2014.
Fast forward 3 years, and now Amagimetals has taken another step forward and has straight out rejected credit card payments for their products.
The slow motion train wreck that is government backed fiat, is coming to its conclusion. I believe this trend will continue in years to come as crypto becomes main stream.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post.

MadHatt.

Sort:  

https://www.jmbullion.com/
I bought a few rounds with bitcoin when silver was $15.50 earlier today.

Ya, I wanted to add them to my page as well, but I havent purchased from them using crypto..... yet. :D
I like that you added the link though... always good to shop around to find exactly what you want.
Thanks for the comment

Glad to help ... :-)

I plan to leave my son alot of precious metals as a inheritance but how exactly would he cash them out ?

If you wanted to cash out of PM's you can sell them to any coin store.
Most online retailers have a way to sell to them as well, but a coin shop will get cash in hand faster.

Hope that helps a bit?

Coin shops usually charge a pretty hefty upcharge for transactions. The one that I dealt with for silver wanted $2 dollars an ounce above spot for a buy, and $1 dollar below spot for a sell.

This is true.
The coin shop has to be able to make money, and charging premiums is the only way to make sure that happens.
I try not to exchange money back into fiat, but, the one time I have done it, I used a coin shop to get money in hand that day. It worked out well for me at the time, as I purchased the 100ounce bar at 1800.00 Canadian, and sold it for 4300.00 USD.

Silver Gold Bull is one of my favorite places. Incredibly fast shipping and thier customer service is the best. I'm a canadian stacker. They are in the USA now and also just jumped on eBay. Thx for the post!

I love them here in Canada too! Really fast shipping, and never a problem.
Thanks for checking out my post, much appreciated.

That is very interesting news indeed! I mean it is one thing to accept a brand new type of currency. It is another thing to no longer accept an older established type of currency. I take the latter as a very strong message of things to come!

I am just learning about cryptocurrencies. I didn't know you could buy real money with tokens. That really does mean the cryptocurrencies are more valuable than the U.S Federal reserve notes.

There are a few ways to get some crypto for free, Ive done a write up on it previously.

Cryptopay - ORDER BITCOIN DEBIT CARD and Wallet with advantages 😃 NFC 2.5 $ iphone https://steemit.com/card/@happycoin/cryptopay-order-bitcoin-debit-card-and-wallet-with-advantages 😎