How to get your girlfriend into crypto?

in #crypto3 years ago (edited)

crypto_woman.jpeg

I’ve heard from friends and people on internet that they have the same problem I had. There are people who want to go crypto full-time or dedicate more time to it but as their girlfriends are not interested in this topic, they don’t freely do what they want because the girlfriends don’t want to hear the crypto related things anymore. Facing the situation myself I wanted to change something about it, because it was very challenging, and as they say, it's very difficult to involve women into crypto. So I decided to break that stereotype and started my process of involving her into crypto. Here I want to share my experiences with you. I hope you’ll find it helpful.


Know her interests

First of all, if you don’t know her interests, you've already screwed up. Try to be more sensitive to what she likes and what she wants. After a while you’ll notice things, patterns and from thereon you can start.
If you already know, well done, you probably have a good functioning relationship xD


Support her

Barrier-free entry
Make it as easy as possible to enter to blockchain and crypto. Show her how to create a wallet and send her some coins, that she doesn't have to go through the process of going to an exchange, buying crypto with fiat money, then trading it for the wanted cryptocurrency. She can find out herself later.

In all ways

Support your girlfriend in all ways possible to evolve her talent and focus on her passion.

“Follow your passion and you’ll succeed.”


Find the missing link

There are many entry points into cryptocurrencies and blockchain.

Gaming

Does she like gaming? Perfect!
With games on the blockchain like ChainGuardians you can even earn money.

Art

Is she into any kind of art? Photography, Drawing, Illustrations or Animations?
Art sector is as perfect as gaming to begin with. With platforms like nftshowroom, opensea, superrare, rarible or niftygateway it is easy to tokenize art digital pieces which can be sold, bought, or traded in anyway you want.

Finance

Does she have a background in finance?

Find interesting facts, similarities and differences in finance of the crypto world and real world. You could also bring up defi (decentralised finance) and its benefits and freedom of the people without any third party institution.

Technology

This is an easy one. People who are interested in technologies are likely more open to new technologies like blockchain. Tell them about the revolution!


My story

From “you and your shit coins” to “hey honey do you think I should stake more of my coins?

When I started to get more into crypto and spent hours of watching videos and researching my girlfriend was annoyed. She couldn’t understand the technologies or sometimes even what they were talking about. This was too much information to process in a short period for somebody who hasn’t had some experiences with crypto before. She couldn’t process all of that and was so annoyed that she even called them shit coins. Sometimes I forbid her to say that. I personally felt attacked, because blockchain technology in generell can be used for revolutionary things and I feel quite passionate about it.

I gave it a thought and found the solution for the situation. Well as my girlfriend loves art, and also creates it herself, after some talks, presentations and examples, I could convince her to put her art on the blockchain (and she is tough to convince when in comes to things she’s not into at all). I explained that you don’t have to be a programmer or technical person to understand how the things work. You don’t even have to understand how things work from the beginning, as you discover things in the flow. Shortly after her first uploads she dived deeper into it and transformed to a crypto lover, staker, HODLer and sees a lot of potential in it, how it revolutionises the art industry. Digital creations are now getting their value and authenticity.

It was a fast transformation of her, like everything in the crypto sphere. It goes fast. Nowadays she is sometimes more up to date than me, I told her some news I just read and she read it yesterday already. She even sometimes gives me good recommendations for investing in. One example for that is TVK. I trusted her opinion and invested blindly without doing my own research. I’m glad I listened to her. It has already gained more than 300%.

So if you want to get your girlfriend into the funnel of crypto, know her biggest “cryptonite” and the nature will do the rest. Through own experiences she can measure its potential, reach and possibilities herself, and change her point of view in a surprising manner.