Basic Atention Token Problmes

in #crypto4 years ago (edited)

external-content.duckduckgo.com.jpg

When I discovered the Brave browser, I was really excited. The browser has all the features of Google Chrome, but without the privacy concerns. On top of that, the Brave browser looks way better than Chrome.

Screenshot_2019-11-26_11-06-18.png

Screenshot_2019-11-26_11-25-46.png

The Brave browser comes with a built-in ad-block, and it will be this feature that I will talk about in this blog post. Brave does include some nice privacy features and options, but I have seen no privacy feature that would make me recommend Brave over Firefox.

I know Brave has the ability to use TOR, but I consider that more of a flaw then a feature. If people are interested, I will write a post about my thoughts on Brave’s TOR feature in a future post.

At first glance, Braves built-in Ad-block doesn't seem like all that big a deal. Installing an Ad-blocker on any browser is trivial and easy enough for the most novice user to do. What makes Brave-Block so unique is the way it gets around Ad-block’s biggest problem: blocking the ads of creators you enjoy.

People hate advertisements, but they still want to support their favorite creators. This gives the user one of two options. They could forgo the Ad-Block and deal with the ads, they could also support the creator directly by tipping them or buying their merchandise. However, the Brave browser has given us a new option.

Brave will block the ads so you won’t see them, but you will still support them by giving them cryptocurrency. As you can imagine, when I learned about this I was super excited. I could block ads, support creators, and spread cryptocurrency; at the same time. Because I am also produce content, I decided to sign up as a Brave creator. I linked my social media and even created some custom art to advertise the Brave browser.

It was then when I learned about the dark truth behind Brave Block. In order to collect BATs (that’s the name of braves cryptocurrency), you need to sign up for Uphold. Uphold is a cloud-based digital money platform that you’ll need to collect your Brave rewards. Seems fine right? Well, turns out to get those rewards you’ll need to DOX YOURSELF. What I mean is that they require you to send them a copy of a government issued photo ID.

external-content.duckduckgo.com.png

You always need to be careful of any info you give away. People are far too willing to give away personal information nowadays. Asking for a photo ID is way too much to ask from a company that I just learned existed five minutes ago.

Before you share information with anyone or any company, you should always ask yourself, “why do they need this information?” The only reason I can think of, is because they comply with US laws regulating financial institutions.

This for me is a big problem. One of the biggest reasons I use cryptocurrency is to enhance my economic freedom. And it looks like Brave has sold out and given into boot-licking without a fight.

Overall, Brave is a far better browser than Chrome. If it’s a choice between Brave or Chrome, I’d recommend Brave every time. Though I can’t recommend it over Firefox. Mozilla’s browser just has better privacy features and I prefer the Gecko web engine to Blink. Brave is still a fine web browser just not my favorite.

As far as Brave Block is concerned, maybe one day Brave will stop boot-licking and allow anonymous payouts. But until then I can’t recommend signing up for Brave Creators.

All hope isn’t lost, there is an Add-on that does a similar service, but I will have to do further testing before I discuss it.

If anyone knows a way around the DOXing I would love to hear it.

Until next time Steemians, I hope you have a great rest of your day.

Sort:  

So it looks like brave has completely sold out to KYS laws. I find it funny that a browser that climes to care so much about privacy would just give into KYS so willingly. Makes me wonder what other concessions of privacy brave has made and will make.