The Idiot Investor

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

It all started back in June..
One day, I was at work getting rested and having my tea break at the lounge next to some of my colleagues, when suddenly, a coworker of mine started yapping about this insane new investment opportunity with cryptocurrency and how it'll end up replacing fiat. He left everyone but me gawking at the insane return rates people were making with crypto. He totally seemed not to care about any other aspect of it other than the profitability. That's when I thought it was a good opportunity for me to intervene.. Crypto was already a passion of mine and I've been following it since 2013 across many communities. Everyone's instant reaction was to ask me how much money I was able to make from it. I never had enough money to put into crypto. And, being in Iraq made it extremely difficult for me to buy it at the time. And so, I never made enough money from it that could change my life. But, I had enough experience from all the years I spent as a crypto hobbyist and a freelancer getting paid in crypto. And, it even lead me later on to read a lot about trading financial markets and becoming a better trader.

A few days passed..
The same coworker returns again and starts preaching us about this new coin that hasn't yet been released to the market and that's bound to be released comes June 2018 and trump all other coins out there. That "coin" he was speaking so highly of was Onecoin..

picard-facepalm.jpg

Onecoin is one of the most infamous scams ever to appear in the cryptosphere. But, you probably already know that. So, I don't want to say anything more about it..
He was irresponsibly sucking every last one of my coworkers into this blackhole and that lead me to a very heated discussion with him. Alas, he was already heavily brainwashed by his cousin who taught him that Onecoin is the one true coin and no other coin is. It was almost religious.. At the time, he put in about $1500 into it. But, that was enough for me to keep trying to talk some sense into him, no use.. Worst thing about it was that he wasn't only hurting himself, he kept on preaching about it and getting more people on board to get more referral bonus.

moses-1.jpg

I kept trying to raise people's awareness to the fact that this is just a large pyramid scheme and they would most likely not see the money they put in ever again. But greed took over and they wouldn't listen to logic. Sadly, as it turned out.. Onecoin was trending heavily in the middle-east. And, it still is.. More people are getting sucked in everyday. I finally decided that if someone was dumb enough to invest into something based on zero knowledge and %100 greed then they deserve to lose their money. I did everything I could do to raise awareness. And, I wouldn't waste any more of my time doing that.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

Last thing I heard about him was that he put in about another $20k into Onecoin.. I had to go ask him myself to be sure. He told me that the exact amount he put in was way more than that. But, he didn't want it to be public. So, I wouldn't post it here either. Then, he kept on saying how I will regret not having invested into Onecoin and how he would be cruising around in his Range Rover by the time Onecoin is released to the market..

I can't even imagine how he could recover from such a devastating blow once everything is unfolded. No one comes back from a loss like that.

Sort:  

He can rebound and he will be smarter hopefully.

I really appreciate your optimism. But, I also really doubt it. It's not just the great financial loss, there's also the social stigma he will have on him for dragging all these people along into that abyss. Time will tell, though..

I can relate. I cringe every time I see people putting money into stuff like this and especially BitConnect.

Nice post, I'll follow you for part 2.

Thanks, dear. I really appreciate your support. I agree, it's really sad to see people far for these classic schemes. Just imaging all the good that money would've done if it had been put to good use..

WHATS UP BITCONEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET