I survived the great Crypto Crash of 2018 January. Did you?

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I was born into the Crypto world not long ago. First heard about it Coins in September 2017 and got my first one on my kid's 7th birthday. A ten dollar transaction christened me in Coinbase. It was 1/10th of an LTC then. First night was easy. Second night was an eye opener - I had converted my ten bucks to $15! The excitement saw me put another $50. The third day I saw it go up to 100. I knew I wasn't going to stop there.

I started researching. Signing up on all the exchanges I could possibly get into. Finally by the end of December I was on Binance, Kucoin, Coinspot, Independent Reserve and of course Coinbase. I was getting my news feed from CCN, The Merkle, and several Facebook Community groups. The best part of my days were spent on community groups talking crypto - commenting, reading other people commenting, laughing at some of the comments, arguing, getting offended and making friends over LTC price dips. I was slowly turning into a Crypto maniac. But it was nice. Toggling, checking my phone more than usual, reading about mining. The last three months were the most exciting three months for a long time for me.

On January 14th I started "consolidating" and moving all my profits to a few coins.. I rang my friends and told them my plan and I got a few thumbs up, as if I had graduated to become a seasoned investor. I Moved everything I had into LTC, BTG, ETC, SALT, STEEM, ARK and of Course FACTUM. I was on a solid footing when I went to bed on 14th night. January 15th was a different story. The melt down began. My What's app groups went quiet. There was not much chatter on social media. People went quiet. Everyone thought it was one of those temporary swings that we see every two hours in crypto world. I think we got this one wrong, didn't we? It dipped, it dipped further and it freaking crashed. The market cap, the price, the whatever.

It all went down berserk. There was no point crying or complaining. Many had advised me that the crash would come sooner or later. Although I lost 30% of my investments during that week, it was hard to give up hope. It was just plain and simple exciting. Crypto is people's money and it was more exciting than gambling because the people behind the coins and the projects were "visionaries" mostly who wanted to solve and resolve and fix the world's problems. It was just too cool to buy into it and be in it.

Today is February 1st. and I'm thinking - boy-o- boy, I survived the crash. I saw the melt down, I limped out of it and I still have the enthusiasm to stick aound. Only coz there's Steem now and only coz I firmly believe that a decentralised world is true utopia.

I cant wait for the rest of the world to adapt. I can't wait for crypto to be mainstream. Even if there are multiple crashes ahead, it's still worth. I believe so.


The Crypto T-Shirts to celebrate the crash

Check em out: Here's what I found on Ebay

Read the little note on my Crypto compare
Your best ten minute period was on Wednesday, 31 January 2018 at 13:00 when you made a profit of AUD XXXX. Your worst ten minute period was on Wednesday, 31 January 2018 at 05:10 when you made a loss of AUD -XXXX.
That's my life now. Toggling, comparing, watching prices go, watch them go down. Have I been catapulted to another age?
For now I'll have my wine, listen to Korn's Unplugged version of Creep and "flow like a feather" in a beautful world.


Sort:  

Haha, it is fun to watch. Makes me feel ill at times, but yeah extremely eventful.
Love the "I survived the great crypto crash of 15 minutes ago" shirt.
Another shirt could be
"I'm a crypto millionai....haaang on, nope, i'm broke....nope wait....yep, yep definitely broke, nope!...rich, ...ok nah, i'm broke..(and so on)"